Alison Orton's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Czech, German
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • PhD Student - History
  • Many years...a few degrees...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

:)

ABOUT ME

PhD student in history...studying late-Habsburg-era breweries.

PHILOSOPHY

This is a difficult one. A big part of it is that differences need to be embraced instead of feared. I believe that I can learn something from everyone whose path I cross. And I do my best to live in the present and realize that I have everything I need (and usually much, much more) at any given moment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted and I like to attend the social events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I took part in a number of social activities in Vienna and enjoyed them. I met a few great people, with some of whom I expect to remain friends for a long time.

Interests

I absolutely love traveling and especially the people one meets in the process. At the moment, most of my travels are related to my dissertation.

  • arts
  • street art
  • traveling
  • history
  • food

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to just about any kind of music - from classical to punk to hip-hop. If I'm going to see live music, I will most often choose jazz or classical.

I'm not a huge movie-watcher. It's not that I don't enjoy them - I am just not sure where to start when looking for something to watch. I avoid horror films, though.

Books? Right now just about everything I read is related to my dissertation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Puerto Rico, Slovakia, Switzerland, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile. It’s free!