Rob Poyck's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Indonesian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Autonomous car engineer
  • Masters degree in Spacecraft engineering
  • From Eindhoven, North Brabant, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

More fruit trees everywhere

ABOUT ME
I'm a totally open-minded person. Interested in pretty much anything and everyone (This doesn't included watching other people doing sport, I'd rather do it myself) I talk a lot, and never grow tired of it. I can appreciate a good sense of humor. Being active and proactive is really important to me. As everyone I find it hard to find a balance between by hobbies, sports, friends, parties and work. And all combinations of those. But I try to put as much of everything in there that I can, which usually results in not enough sleep :P

PHILOSOPHY
An old saying in Eindhoven says:
'Ge wit ut oit noit nie'
Very loosely translated this would mean:
"You'll never know what tomorrow brings"
And I will enjoy it every step of the way!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I am in a way proud of my country and my cities. I will go out of my way to accommodate fellow couch surfers. I like meeting new people and hope to offer people an insight in where I live. And give them the kindness and help I also have had in my couchsurfing experience.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
Due to travelling and everything I have friends scattered all over the country and have surfed many couches before. After hearing of this site I have surfed a couple of couches in Indonesia and in Europe. All experiences have been nice. Meeting the real people and hearing the real stories and places to go. Not just dusty old tourist guides :)

Interests

Food is important to me. Wherever I go one of the most important things for me is, tasting the local cuisine. I also love to cook, as long as there are people who will enjoy it with me. :) furtheron. Playing piano, martial arts, motordriving and motorcross, building machines and repairing old ones, mountain and rock climbing, street-basketball, drawing and of course Traveling!!

  • arts
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • piano
  • sports
  • basketball
  • martial arts
  • rock climbing
  • lakes
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't really take the time to watch a lot of movies anymore. I do like a good adventure, fantasy, comedy, history or horror movie, such as Monty Python, Pirates of the caribbean, Delicatessen. I like reading books in the same genres, such as Tolkien, Dostojevski, Tolstoy, Clavell. I'll listen to any music, depending on my mood. From the great classical composers like Mussorgsky and Chopin to Hardcore. From Bob Marley to Guus Meeuwis and everything inbetween.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've climbed a mountain in Indonesia through jungle and over steep and sunburned volcano slopes. The trip up was way too heavy and it started to rain. On top there was not enough material to make the shelter we hoped for and we couldn't start a fire for the life of us. The darkness kicked in and the temperature plummeted. Cold, dark, wet and sleepless we set there for the 11 long hours of darkness, with only some stories to keep the spirit up.

But the sight of the sun coming up and giving us the view over countless mountains, lakes and jungle valleys, is a sight that I will remember forever.

Teach, Learn, Share

Unlike some people and books are saying, i found Indonesia a great place to hitchhike

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macao, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, San Marino, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Indonesia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile.

My Groups