Alon Shats's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alon’s full profile.

Overview

  • 68 references 52 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Spanish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Traveller & entrepreneur (in this order of importance)
  • Electrical Engineer
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Current (and life-long) mission:
Happiness!

A little about me:
Easy going, friendly and open-minded. Traveller & entrepreneur (hopefully I'll be able to mix this two together).
I love to travel (my longest trip so far: 20 months around the world) and I enjoy meeting new people & cultures (wherever I go it’s a must to try typical food and drinks).
I specially enjoy nature, hiking & trekking.
I Love animals (dogs are human’s best friends but cats are cool too :)).
A perfect night: Hanging out with good friends+cold drink + live music.

Life lesson and philosophy:
Travel, explore and enjoy life as much as possible. Be happy in whatever form it means for you... Live your life by design, not by default!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined CS looking for a new and cool way to travel around, meeting locals and have some "home away from home" feeling.... And I found much more!
I stayed on the floor, in the backyard (tent), couches and very nice beds. In each part my hosts made my trip special and memorable.

And now, it's time to give back! I don't know when I'll go traveling again, so for now I plan to be the best host I can be :) I miss meeting new people and having travelers around me :)

---
Just if you're interested, so far I surfed (and had great hosts)) in:
- Seattle, USA
- Fairbanks, Alaska (USA)
- Marrakesh, Morocco
- Berlin, Germany
- Copenhagen, Denmark
- Oslo, Norway
- Stavanger, Norway
- Bergen, Norway
- Trondheim, Norway
- Stockholm, Sweden
- Helsinki, Findland
- Tallinn, Estonia
- Pärnu, Estonia
- Riga, Latvia
- Vilnius, Lithuania
- Bratislava, Slovekia
- Ljubljana, Slovenia
- Hatay, Turkey
- Safranbolu, Turkey
- Sınop (Gerze), Turkey
- Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
- Kowloon, Hong Kong
- Kennedy Town, Hong Kong
- Manila, Philippines
- Cebu, Philippines
- Seoul, South Korea
- Busan, South Korea
- Gyeongju, South Korea
- Tokyo, Japan
- Osaka, Japan
- Kyoto, Japan
- Hiroshima, Japan
- Fukuoka, Japan
- Kumamoto, Japan
- Miami, USA

After each trip I felt I left friends behind.

Interests

Nature, cultures, music, food.

  • animals
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • entrepreneurship
  • mountains
  • travel
  • trekking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

20 months around the world! So much amazing things, including facing an hungry Mountain Gorilla and crossing the border from Panama to Colombia in fisherman boat, sleeping in deserted islands in San Blas

Also (different trips):

Trip to Alaska in Winter:
- Seeing the Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis)
- Ice fishing
- Hot Spring with -10c outside

6 months round the world trip, including:
- 42 days trip overland in Africa (8 countries)
- Hot air balloon over Serengeti
- Microlight flight over Victoria Falls
- 3 weeks in New Zealand in Camper Car

Whale watching in Puerto Madryn (Argentina), so close you could almost touch them.

Backpacking in Patagonia (Chile-Argentina):
- 8 days trekking in beautiful Torres del Paine
- Perito Moreno glacier
- Trekking in Puerto Williams, the southern town in the world.

And much more to come! :)

Teach, Learn, Share

- Travel, explore and enjoy life as much as possible.
- Be happy in whatever form it means for you
- Live your life by design, not by default!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Malawi, Mexico, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Israel, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alon’s full profile.

My Groups