Alri Potgieter's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alri’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2020
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hallo hi! I am Alri from South Africa. I’ve moved to Vietnam a couple of years ago to teach kids and live a less complicated life - and I am absolutely loving it here in Saigon.

Though I live a simple life, I still try to live a life of use to others - working as a teacher, volunteering at a local orphanage, and opening my house to friends and (now) strangers... 😜

I am rather social, and therefore always trying to expand my circle of friends (and influence).
I work relatively long hours, but as I can function with very little sleep (and suffer from a severe case of fomo 🙈😜) I am usually out after.

Please reach out to me if you'd like to hang out or if you have any recommendations/advice about life in Saigon!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To make authentic social connections - share stories and make friends.

Interests

Socialising, entertaining, cooking, live music, dancing, travelling, art, volunteering...

  • arts
  • theater
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • beer
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • live music
  • jazz
  • volunteering
  • gayfriendly
  • entertaining

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Angus & Julia Stone, Ben Howard, The Paper Kites, Fink, Bastille, Bethel

Movies:
The Book Thief, The Way Back, Legends of the Fall, The King’s Speech, Infinitely Polar Bear, The Story of Luke

Books:
The Empty Raincoat - Charles Handy
The Little Prince - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
The Secret Annex - Anne Frank

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So, I have to list two things - one social and one significant.

I have helped arrange two South African themed parties at a bar owned by a couple of close friends - resulting in an EPIC night with new friends.

I’ve cooked for less fortunate children (many times)... Have even been given the name Mma Seapei (the mother who cooks) by the children from Inalegolo, Botswana.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been speaking English my whole life, and I love to help people learn!

I'm interested in performing arts and creative expression, and play the piano (and the violin). It would be fantastic if you would be up for jamming with me at my piano or at a small artsy café - I know a couple with pianos. 😉🎹

I am also an avid cook, so bonus points if you’d be willing (and able) to share a favourite recipe.

I can also connect you with some of the orphanages in the city. 💛

What I Can Share with Hosts

Quality conversation, positive attitude, open mind, and lots of laughs. I am also more than happy to help cook, clean, etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Botswana, Lesotho, Thailand, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Alri’s full profile.