Logo orange

Dimitri Velednitsky

Durham, North Carolina, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dimitri's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 43 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Lab Bitch
  • BS in Psych and Neuroscience
  • From Stamford, CT, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Doing something new every day

ABOUT ME

For the past 2 I have been defined by my travels. Questions like "Where are you from? Where have you been? Where did you work? Where are you going?" have taught me that "where" is the least important question you can ask. Now I ask "Why does this make you happy"? and "When can we go do it together?" My current destinations have lately been about doing what and with whom. I want to do fun things with interesting people. I want to enter animated debates and go to crazy parties. These don't exist in a place. They exist every place the correct people have gathered together. I want to be those people and find more of them everywhere I go.

PHILOSOPHY

All we have in this world is our time. We trade it for money, pleasure, pain, knowledge, memories, relationships and everything else in the world. I want want to get the most out of mine.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I go to weekly meetings when there is good beer, I usually host when I get a good message and even organize events when there is something I want to do. My couch is usually free because I ignore spam or anything that looks spammy. It doesn't take much to send a personal message.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first experience was surfing in Dubai. I was on my way to India and I couldn't miss the opportunity to stop for a few days. A guy named Servesh hosted me, showed me around, told me of CS meets and was every helpful in every way. Then he and a friend I made at at CS meet all hung out in India together. My highest expectations were just blown out of the water. Since then I've gone to CS meets all over the place. I've never been disappointed.

Interests

I am interested in everything they call an "extreme sport". I read lots of sci-fi. I'm a big neuroscience geek by profession, a computer geek by hobby, and a gaming geek when I want a quiet night. More-so than anything else though I am interested in people. I love trying to understand how people think, especially when they don't think the way I do. Every time someone teaches you to love something they do, you find another love in your life.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Reggae, ska, swing, punk, metal. Live. All music is better live.

Movies: I like dark movies, comedies, and really bad movies that are fun to make fun of, like Army of Darkness.

Books: As I travel I read more. I have been reading a lot of scifi, I'm a big fan of Niel Gaiman, and Ray Bradbury and Kurt Vonnegut, and Michael Chrichton and many others. I enjoy books that I exchange for the ones I have juts finished

One Amazing Thing I've Done

When I arrived in Australia, the day I got off the plane I met some people at the hostel who wanted to do all the touristy stuff and I'm all for meeting people and doing whatever they are into. So as we were walking around I learned that my new found friends are from Brazil and they were leaving that day to go skiing, and see snow for the first time in their lives. Halfway through the day they got a call and one of their friends canceled on them and they had an empty spot that I happily filled. I spent my first 3 days in Australia skiing even though I had no intention to do so.

I loved the experience. I travel with no plans after that happened.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to cook. I can teach some delicious meals.
I can teach many computer skills. And I'm great at fixing electronics. I can teach snowboarding, kite surfing, and I have some academic knowledge.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Portugal, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Singapore, Spain, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dimitri's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile