Logo orange

Alvaro Serra

Zaragoza, Aragon, Spain

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alvaro's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 58 Positive References
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning Arabic, Chinese, German, Japanese, Russian
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Teacher
  • Uni- travel
  • From Valencia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Sharing your knowledge with others, one way to achieve inmortality.

ABOUT ME

Easy-going, simple person, easy to be pleased.
I love to meet people and learn about their cultures.
I speak fluently English, French, Italian and Spanish and I can hold a conversation in German. I am learning Arabic, Chinese and Russian.

PHILOSOPHY

You only live once, but if you work it right, once is enough.
The first step to getting the things you want out of life is this: Decide what you want.
God, if I can’t have what I want, let me want what I have.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfing... hosting....and organizing events :)

Thanks to Couch Surfing, I have met many people, hosted a few, and learned much from the experience.

I would like to share with you my experiences running Educational Paths around the world. Please join this group:
https://www.couchsurfing.org/group.html?gid=76566

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have Couch Surfed around the world, not just staying in places but also attending meetings and organizing events. The last few are:Montreal's 2010 Halloween CS party: http://www.couchsurfing.org/meetings.html?mid=88259Hiking the Bruce Trail. Canada: http://www.couchsurfing.org/meetings.html?mid=92423Alpine adventure in the Dolomites. Italy: http://www.couchsurfing.org/meetings.html?mid=87677Hiking & Climbing near Xativa (Spain):http://www.couchsurfing.org/meetings.html?mid=152606Hiking & Climbing in the Swiss Alps:http://www.couchsurfing.org/meetings.html?mid=146257
and many other events in the lovely Swiss Alps.

My biggest CouchSurfing experience is EducationalPaths around the world.
more info here: https://www.couchsurfing.org/group.html?gid=76566

Interests

Reading, sports, computer-related activities, traveling and learning languages. Co-founder and Webmaster of Intercultura. (Intercultura is a charity that organizes culturalexchanges and educational activities for young people world-wide). I am a volunteer in many other NGOs worldwide and an active member of several mountaineering clubs.I like sports, especially in the mountains. I like reading, having interesting conversations and learning about other cultures, including languages (I am especially interested in Russian, Arabic and Japanese as well as improving my German).I do not particularly enjoy shopping and I do not like useless things, especially if they mean a waste of our natural resources.

Music, Movies & Books

Voila ici some of my favourite: Life of Brian (Monty Python), Boys don't cry (The Cure), Il padrino (Puzo).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Climbed a 5500m peak in the Annapurnas... it had no name (any peaks under 7000m is not considered high enough in the Himalayas) so I named it ¨Max¨after my dog, who could not do the trip with me.Seen the absulute nothing caving in ValenciaFound gorgeous gorges canyoning in the PyreneesConvinced loads of people to dress up for Halloween in HongKong.Camino de Santiago, Tour of Mt Blanc, Carros de foc, Annapurna round trip, Thai Trek, Inca trail....But most important of it all:I have met wonderful people all over the world , may of them CSing, and I am looking forward to meeting many more. You?

Teach, Learn, Share

A mere friend will agree with you, but a real friend will argue.
Russian Proverb

The empty vessel makes the greatest sound.
- William Shakespeare

What I Can Share With Hosts

I have travelled quite a lot around the world and lived in several countries. I have learned a lot from other people and love to transmit my experiences to others. This is why I joined CS :)

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Laos, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Thailand, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Andorra, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Alvaro's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile