Korinn's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Korinn’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Chinese, Japanese
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Teacher
  • University of Texas at Dallas
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learning, Experiencing, Sharing

ABOUT ME

I am a person who loves to look at all sides of life. For this reason I want to travel and host people from all around the globe. I have already hosted various exchange students in my home and I was an exchange student in Brasil August 2010 - June 2011.
I really enjoy all kinds of science, especially neuroscience and psychology, and art, such as well as literature and music, and theatre, all kinds of artistic expression. I have worked at a pet hotel and volunteered at a zoo for 6 years, and at a science museum as well. and I absolutely love animals, and have a jack russell terrier and a cat. I live in the Dallas area now, and would love to meet up and chat sometime!

PHILOSOPHY

Once a king wanted to know the answers to these 3 questions:
“How can I know the right time for every action?
Who are the people most important to me and to whom I ought to give the greatest attention?
What is the most important thing to do?
And the lessons he learned were:
The most important time is now.
The most important person is the person you are with.
The most important thing to do is to do good to him.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

In the summer of 2014 I and a friend had eight wonderful hosts on the amazing island of Puerto Rico! It was quite amazing to see how people opened their homes to us and also helped us find new hosts in our next city. We had really exceptional experiences that we would not have been able to have without our hosts, plus being able to really experience different walks of life and ways of living all over Puerto Rico. I hope once I find my own place I can start paying the world back and host travelers!

Interests

Knitting, gardening, reading interesting books, learning languages, traveling, cooking.

I graduated from the University of Texas at Dallas where I majored in neuroscience. However, I found most of my classes fascinating! Physics, Psychology, Anthropology, etc.

I am a 6th grade (11-12 yr olds) science teacher, and its pretty amazing. I absolutely love educating kids about the natural world.

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • wildlife
  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • literature
  • dining
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • knitting
  • music
  • backpacking
  • anthropology
  • biology
  • languages
  • neuroscience
  • physics
  • psychology
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I really enjoy reading fantasy and sci-fi! I'm re-reading the Wheel of Time series, and I really like Stephen Baxter, Neil Gaimen, Terry Pratchett.
I love listening to NPR, its almost always on in my house.

I also like k-pop! Some of my favorite artists are Big Bang, BTS, Mamamoo, Brown Eyed Girls and lots of others.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Met up with a stranger and decided to backpack around Puerto Rico for 3 months together and have been with him ever since :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you how to knit and crochet if you like! I'm still a relative beginner though, so I still have a lot to learn myself.

I speak Portugese and lived in Brazil, so if you'd like to learn a bit about Brazilian culture, food, language, I am open for the sharing!

I love to cook different things, and my favorite holiday is Thanksgiving, so if you would like to learn how to make some amazing molasses cookies, roast a turkey, or mash some potatoes, just let me know!

I also am very interested in biology and wildlife, and the behavior of both animals and humans. Questions, comments, discussion with people are welcome!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Fun conversations about travel experiences and dreams, psychology, and animals. I would love to make my favorite spaghetti sauce for my hosts as well :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Taiwan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Korinn’s full profile. It’s free!