Alanay Turkmen's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alanay’s full profile.


  • 8 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning Italian
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Dokuz Eylul University, Faculty of Medicine
  • From İzmir, İzmir, Türkiye
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am 23 years old, born and raised in Izmir, studying medicine in my final year!

I always dreamt of traveling and experiencing the world. Last year I was in Italy for 6 months and it has been a life changer for me. I studied, worked, travelled and I want to keep visiting different countries. Seeing the world, how different kinds of lives exist make me feel alive more than anything else in the world. The challenge to adapt to others, to learn new languages excite me! I started using couchsurfing actively back in Italy. The best of my travels were always with locals in many aspects. It will always be my favorite way to adjust in a new city.

About my personality, I am generally a calm and a loving person, a good listener. I guess as many 20+ years olds my main focus is to find what I want to do in future and how, where to do it. I still cannot accept the fact that my work will take a big part in my life, sometimes even preventing me from my other interests. I used to run and do yoga but lately I haven't been very active. I am trying to regain my habits, my goal is to run a half marathon before 2023 ends. I am taking classes on Lindy Hop. Even though I am not perfect at it I love dancing, I feel that it liberates my soul. I loove eating but generally I try to watch for what I eat in terms of having a balance in life and not tiring out my body. I try to opt for gluten free and sugar free things (this changes when I travel, then I eat the world to taste new things!). Last but not least, I am a pescetarian. I love reading, I used to read novels but now I read mostly non-fiction books on topics like neurosciences, biology, evolution, medicine, sometimes history. (These days I am also reading some sci-fi).

These are the summary of my interests and occupations at the moment. My last travel was to UK, ever since I feel like I keep forming new neural connections about the world haha oh also I was always interested in arts but lately it grew a whole new space in my life, would love to hear others' ideas :)

I enjoy exchanging ideas about the ways we live, the world. It's already very nice to meet you!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's such a great thing how people help each other from all around the world when they are even complete strangers, build great friendships out of nothing


  • arts
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • running
  • meditation
  • movies
  • medicine
  • neuroscience
  • philosophy
  • science
  • nature
  • learning languages
  • reading books
  • cello
  • phsycology

Music, Movies, and Books

Like many others, I love watching movies. Though I must admit, I don't have the time as much as I did earlier. Nowadays I am browsing movies on Mubi. I usually try to get to know the director and the cast, after watching one movie I try to watch the others as well. Since I'm trying to learn the Italian culture at the moment, I'm catching up on Federico Fellini.

My all time favourites would be Into the Wild and Captain Fantastic. I am a lover of Wes Anderson's and Tarantino's movies. The fact that I still couldn't complete the IMDB's top 250 list is a little sad...
Some of my favourite series are Rick and Morty, Black Mirror, West World (I haven't watched the entire series), HBO's Girls, New Amsterdam, Silicon Valley, Legion, Sherlock.

My music taste differs on a daily basis. As genres I like Indie Pop/Rock, French Pop, Classical Music and a little bit of Electronic/Dance. Polo & Pan, Metronomy, L'imperatrice, Monolink, Florence and The Machine, Lorde, Sia some of the people I listen to.

Soo many books, I've always loved Little Prince and The Alchemist. Nowadays I'm more focused on the science writers like Daniel Lieberman, Oliver Sacks. There are so many people to mention that I can't decide. I'd love to talk about different writers and books in person.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Camping on the seaside with my girls (which you can see the pictures of), taking a train from Istanbul to Bucharest for more than 16 hours, staying 1 month in Ferrara during my first year in uni!

Teach, Learn, Share

I could share my experiences in the field of medicine. I'd be happy to teach about Turkish language and the culture. We have some amazing dishes. I can show you how to hold the bow for the cello!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am quite neat and tidy. I love listening to people on various topics and discussing if I have the background information. I could also share my experiences happily. We could work out, go on hikes, chat for hours, eat and travel together. I believe I'd be a good company. Or if you wouldn't prefer spending time together, I can be ok on my own too.

Countries I’ve Visited

England, Italy, Kazakhstan, Romania

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Alanay’s full profile.

My Groups