Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alynda’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 17 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Esperanto, French, German, Swedish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Exploring the world
  • Social psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

All about me won't fit in this box ;-) I like to think, laugh and have good talks. People find me funny, optimistic, open minded, analytic and a bit crazy. I'm more on the road than at home.. I generally try to do as many things as possible and be happily ever after.

PHILOSOPHY

A heart that don't dance ain't a real heart at all

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Depending on my plans, you might stay at my place or we could have dinner or a soy latte somewhere downtown. We could go out dancing or just make typical Dutch dishes such as wentelteefjes (French toast but aint nothing French about that!) and apple pie.

Note: I DO NOT LIVE IN AMSTERDAM. I'm currently living in with some friends in the middle of nowhere and I'm not sure about hosting. However, I study in Utrecht, work in Amsterdam, and love to explore all other touristic hotspots so you can always send me a message, I'm happy to show you around the tiny flatland!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have a few amazing surfing experiences and I have hosted a couple of times. It's always a good experience to share the otherwise empty couch with a fellow world wanderer.

Interests

I love nature and good food, hiking and biking, being with friends and meeting people, travelling and trains, playing board games or Werewolves, beers and cocktails, salads and bbqs, soy lattes and homemade ice tea, reading and writing, dancing and being a litle weird.

  • writing
  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • cocktails
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • drawing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • boxing
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I have a not so well hidden secret cookbook addiction. Most of them are in English and you are welcome to try some recipes during your stay here. Other than that, I read at least one book per week, couldn't sleep without it. Moviewise, I like good (psychological) thrillers and documentaries that teach me new things about people and places.

If you play cello or violin you're very welcome at my place, because I really want to learn play. I play the piano occasionally - or actually, it's a keyboard. I love gipsy world music, folk, rock, alternative and female voices. Always keen to visit concerts and festivals.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So cheeky but it's really hard to pick only one. I'm generally quite happy on any day that starts early with a hike, preferably on a mountain, has some good coffee and vegan food, and ends somewhere in a green area, sun on your face, surrounded by interesting people with good stories. Or maybe just me by myself with a book, bikini and a waterfall to swim in. I feel like the the Aussie "born in a tent" shirts capture my love for the outdoors pretty well, except that I was born in a hospital in the Netherlands. Upside down.

Teach, Learn, Share

Always happy to share my cooking skills and teach you how to scramble up some tofu or bake a fluffy carrot cake. Maybe you can teach me some Swedish? That is my current project. I want to learn many more languages though. I can teach you some Dutch or German, share some dull psychological theories with you or draw you all chemicals that your shampoo contains. And I can teach you how to play fluxx, which is the best game in the world. I'm also happy to share my yoga experience with you, teach you how to repair your bicycle, or tell you weird stories about star constellations I made up because I keep on forgetting the official ones.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Alynda’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups