Alyssa Gilson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alyssa’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • student studying abroad in France
  • No education listed
  • From Green Bay, WI, USA
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I am a student studying abroad in Grenoble, France, until the end of May.

I hope to travel every weekend during my stay in hopes of seeing as much as I can while I'm here.

I have been studying French for almost ten years now. I can say I'm not the best but I am trying my best to improve. It's the reason I came to France because I felt it was the best solution to learn the language and better my skills. I can honestly say that I've improved since I've been here. I love being able to use my skills in France - which isn't so easy in the United States.

Back home, I'm majoring in International Business and Language Area Studies (or IBLAS for short) with a minor in French.

One day I hope to own my own Authentic French bread bakery. Yes with baguettes, croissants, bagels and doughnuts! I consider myself a good cook and an excellent baker. Though I haven't perfected my bread skills, I can make some mean cheesecake!

During the school year I work a lot on top of my class schedule. I'm used to having more than one job, but none of them are jobs that I would like to stay in my entire life. Whatever life throws at me in the mean time until I reach my dream will satisfy me - as long as I'm happy.

But in France I don't have a job which leaves me with all this free time to travel. I've been booking trips every weekend so I can get the most out of my experience. I want to see whatever I can while I'm here and cherish the moments!

Can you help me fulfill my dreams by providing me a place to stay?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new people and travel the world!

Interests

  • culture
  • cooking
  • baking
  • traveling
  • area studies
  • business

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to mainstream hip hop on the radio but I have a few favorite artists. I've been a fan of Lady GaGa since day one - her passion is inspiring and she truly is an artist. I also really like Chris Brown and Rihanna, and some Lana (Del Ray).

I really like scary movies. I've been watching them since I was little and have basically seen every scary movie that has come out since then. I don't really have a favorite movie because there are so many movies produced now days... but I find myself saying my favorite movie is Moulin Rouge.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'd like to think that going abroad is something amazing that I have done. I left my country and all the familiarity that I've known my whole life to live four and a half months in another country, completely on my own. I've met a lot of great people who are doing this on their own as well, but it's a great feeling knowing that you can immerse yourself in a different culture, with a different language that you barely know anything about.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you a few things about baking if we have time - but sometimes you have to be in the mood to bake!

I'm also pretty open and can share with you my experiences. I'd love to hear yours as well!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Italy, Jamaica, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alyssa’s full profile. It’s free!