Logo orange

Amanda Gaines

Washington, DC, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Professional volunteer
  • Bachelor's in broadcast journalism, ...
  • From Merrick, NY
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live, listen, learn, love.

ABOUT ME

I've got a weird sense of humor, but it's also one of the biggest parts of my personality. I'm an activist and super passionate about issues that are important to me. I'm a politics and news junkie, but generally politics just make me angry. I love meeting new people and trying new things.

PHILOSOPHY

I live and let live. I know nothing ever goes according to plan, and often let spontaneity guide me. I have my views and ideas about life, politics, social issues, people, lots of things, and I like to discuss them and learn other people's views. Always interested in learning new things.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I don't have a place to live that's permanent enough where I can host. If and when this changes, I would love to host other surfers. In the mean time, I'll be surfing and meeting new people as much as I can.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed with a few hosts in the United States for a range of days. I haven't hosted yet, mostly because I haven't lived anywhere steadily where I could host since I joined CouchSurfing.

Interests

I recently finished a 10-month stint traveling the midwestern USA as a "professional volunteer." I've done some incredible work, met people and seen places I probably would never have otherwise, since I've spent most of my life on the east coast. I love to read and generally can spend hours on the internet browsing articles, webcomics and reddit. I play guitar, but it's been months since I've picked one up. Music is huge for me; I love going to shows. Also love trying new beers and can be a bit of a beer snob. It comes from all the years I lived in DC.

Music, Movies & Books

Punk and ska music are dearest to my heart, but I'll listen to and enjoy other types of music, too. Movies I love are generally dark comedies, documentaries and thrillers. I read a lot, but mostly non-fiction and long-form articles lately.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've gone skydiving twice. Can't wait to go again.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm pretty good at making friendship bracelets and playing guitar. I know a lot of the words to a lot of songs that you wouldn't expect. A lot of the time, I don't expect it either.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, France, Ireland, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile