Accepting Guests

  • 13% response rate
  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 115 References 84 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • Life
  • From British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a Canadian girl who lives in the small but charming town of Rosscarbery in the southwest of Ireland. (Wild and Wonderful West Cork) I live with my husband who is from Holland and our wee baby, Norah. I work for an organic vegetable farm, as well as look after some lively children.

Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do rather than the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Discover. Dream. -Mark Twain

Don't die wondering.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've hosted over 100 people, and surfed my way around a bunch of this beautiful world! Made some great friends along the way!


Being outside, cooking (plant based/wholefoods), swimming, yoga, massage, reading, and of course traveling, far and wide!

  • books
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • camping
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - A mishmash of things, I love bluegrass, Indian classical, reggae, blues, old country, Balkan-gypsy type stuff, 50's-60's-70's rock and roll, traditional Irish, ambient, soul...

Movies - The Darjeeling Limited, Broken Circle Breakdown, Tracks, Wendy and Lucy, Old Joy, Into The Wild, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, 127 Hours, The Last Waltz, Lost in Translation, anything by Jim Jarmusch, Alejandro Iñárritu, any good documentary!

Books - Travel and adventure books! Non-fiction, mostly.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

~India in general.
~Bathing in a geothermal river in Iceland.
~Being up close and personal with the red colobus monkeys in Zanzibar. (I love monkeys!)
~Swimming in cenotes in southern Mexico... paradise...
~Seeing Neil Young front and centre, San Francisco.
~Camping out in a cave on the beaches of Sardinia, Italy.
~Finding my true love :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn to surf & knit.
I can teach vegan, whole-foods cooking and baking.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm keen on cooking and can offer a meal, I also love animals and children so could help with either of those... I suppose we've got a few travel stories to share, and maybe a book or music swap!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Canada, Croatia, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Ireland, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    14 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups