Logo orange

Amanda Kuehn

Oakland, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • MFA student, Freelance writer/editor
  • MFA in Creative Writing, B.A. in Wri...
  • From Lincoln, NE, United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Experiencing the fullness of life and caring for others in the process

ABOUT ME

I grew up in Nebraska and have spent most of my adult life in the Midwest (Iowa, Kansas and Missouri) with multiple 4-6 month stays in France and England scattered in. I'm currently living in the East Bay, working on my Master's degree, and loving California.

I am always seeking out new experiences.
I've worked in a bakery, in the corn fields, in college offices, and in Indian and American restaurants. I enjoy teaching ESL, editing manuscripts, writing journalism and working with international students.

I like meeting people, reading books, exploring parks, sharing meals, and sipping wine. I always aspire to be a more diligent writer and blogger and believe that I am currently seeking experiences from which I will grow and develop as a person.

I'm an amateur cook, but like spending time in the kitchen. I have an affinity for the fine arts - dance, symphony, musicals, and theater in general. I appreciate simple pleasures, but also delight in finer things.

PHILOSOPHY

I have a life. I have feelings and thoughts about that life, and so I suppose I have a philosophy as well. I believe that each human has a personal narrative, a story they live into that intertwines with various other stories and joins together in altogether grater tale. I value getting to be a part of that story, and learning about the backgrounds and experiences of others.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I foster international relationships and help along the adventures of others. Through CS I have gained connections and friendships that span across oceans and continents.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I accepted my first surfers from Canada in May of 2011. Since then, I have hosted an assortment of US visitors and have surfed couches in Italy, Switzerland, France, Ireland, London, Prague, and the US. I have met wonderful people and am always excited for my next experience with CS.

Interests

Ever since earning my TEFL certificate I've been fascinated with meeting people from different cultural backgrounds. I enjoy learning new words, tasting new foods, meeting new people and contributing to discussions. If I had a perfect day it would include a scenic run, strong coffee, fresh fruit, a good book, fine wine, a blazing sunset, cold ice cream and a star-speckled night sky.

Music, Movies & Books

I have a terrible time picking favorites, but some that stick out to me are:
Movies: Sabrina, Roman Holiday, Rear Window, Little Women, Phantom of the Opera, Audrey Hepburn, Hitchcock, assorted romantic comedies, such as Love Actually and The Holiday.

Books: Little Women, Les Miserables, Till We Have Faces, Phantom of the Opera, Jane Austen, C.S. Lewis in general, Paradise Lost, some Shakespeare, and also more current stuff. My newest find is Glennon Doyle Melton.
Music: My taste in music is rather varied and includes Miles Davis, Pink Martini, Glenn Miller, Frank Sinatra, Michael Buble, Josh Ritter, Coldplay, Nora Jones, Counting Crows, Jack Johnson, Henry Mancini, Dean Martin, Michael Jackson, the Flaming Lips, Iron and Wine,

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Swimming in the English Channel and the Mediterranean Sea
Sunsets over the Rocky Mountains in Colorado
Four-day holidays to Barcelona and Rome
Quit my job to spend three months living in France and two more galavanting around Europe on my own. It has been the strongest test of my character and fortitude that I have experienced.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am just beginning to learn French, and can use all the help I can get.
I'm new to cooking, and enjoy learning by experience
I'm a good English teacher and tutor
I have skills in writing and editing, which I share when I can
I'm new to knitting, and love the way it keeps my hands busy

Countries I've Visited

France, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

France, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile