Logo orange

Amanda Öst

Uppsala, Uppsala County, Sweden

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Dutch, French
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Preschool teacher
  • More educated in some subjects than ...
  • From Frösön, Jämtland, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Just stay positive! :)

ABOUT ME

Hi, I'm Amanda, originally from the beautiful city of Oestersund right in the middle of sweden. Haven't been living there for while now though, been moving around quite a lot since graduting from high school (Belgium, Switzerland, Scotland, a few turns in Sweden, and Dubai). Most recently I spent 6 months working in the Maldives but now I'm back in Sweden to do a Master in children's rights. Will see how long I can manage to stay in my cold, cold home country this time. There are so many beautiful places in the world, and I can't quite make up my mind on where I want to live.

I discovered couchsurfing while living in Belgium and it really is a great way to meet fun and interesting people that I would otherwise never have met! I am a preschool teacher, and I think I have a lot in common with the children; slightly naive at times, love moving around, and really lack the ability to sit still for too long!

PHILOSOPHY

Yes, maybe I am a bit naive, but I really do believe in the good of people. I work with very small children and they do not discriminate based gender, background or the color of their skin so I'm still struggling to see why grown-ups do..

I also think that if you do want something, you should make it happen (although sometimes easier said than done :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Only good ones so far :)

Interests

I love sports and adventures of any kind! Especially climbing up things and jumping down from them and anything related to water. I started diving while living in the Maldives and I always feel really good under water.

Very keen on pole fitness as well, and would like to explore acroyoga more ("the world is beautiful upside down").

I am an outdoors kind of person and spending a whole day inside is close to impossible for me. Unfortunately I struggle with being very cold (though I was recently told there's a saying that goes "Cold hands and a warm heart" or something like that). So unfortunately I can't skate and ski as much as I'd otherwise like to, but I try!

I do also enjoy city life, just going out meeting people, going for a coffee (or 'fika' as we say in Sweden) or a drink or just sitting in a parc enjoying the sun.

Music, Movies & Books

Lord of the rings, Harry Potter (and proud of it ;), big bang theory, the amazing race (how cool to participate!).
Have to admit I do not read a lot except for course literature and the occasional magazine.. I also don't know a lot about music, but even though I mostly don't know what I listen to, I really enjoy music.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Bungyjumping. Yes, I loved it, anyone wants to go again?

Whild diving in Maldives, we were surrounded by schools of fusilliers hunting when suddenly a mantaray appeared. So unexpected and so cool. My very best diving memory.

I also fell in love with Hawaii, the people and the places were just amazing.

Shen & Zhao's long program in the 2003 world championships. And I didn't even see it live, but that was so incredibly amazing. From now on, listening to Turandot is almost enough to make me cry!

Teach, Learn, Share

If anyone would be interesting in learning Swedish, I could (try) and teach you that.

If you want to learn about figure skating I've got a lot to say on that subject too :)

My most recent "hobby" is pole dancing, though I'm not quite at the stage where I can teach others, though I'd love to learn more!

Countries I've Visited

Bulgaria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Maldives, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Sri Lanka, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium, Maldives, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile