Amber Dyanne Johnson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amber Dyanne’s full profile.


  • 81 references 66 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Latvian, Māori
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • ICT Client Technologies Analyst
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To explore physically within my country, the world, and to also explore the intricacies of human life.
I would love to help liberate the world through craft, connection and a good story!! To work with and in my community, and further, to dissolve prejudice and discrimination. I will do my part here and now so that one day there may be a world in which everyone is heard, seen, free and supported. And also to, ya know, have fun and meet every dog in the world!!


I am addicted to any form of craft. I love hiking, biking, yoga, bouldering, meditation and staying grounded. I am passionate about the things I'm passionate about (and that's a lot of passion!).
Nothing energizes me more than being in nature and being with open people discussing the things that are important in life with anyone who is open to talk.
Did I mention that I LOVE a good story!
I also hate any form of discrimination or abuse of power. Life is all about community and coming together to help one another, learn and grow.
Ivars is my husband. You can find his profile here (

I am the founder and coordinator of Craft Without Borders and CED Nights. I am also the Co-Founder of Uniting Canterbury Women.

However my actual paid day job is fixing computers.

I also work for a dog shelter voluntarily called the Chch Bull Breed Rescue.


Have fun and learn as much as you can, no matter how unimportant the information is.
Help others if you have the ability to do so. Connection is the key to happiness.

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
- Edmund Burke

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Have been on and off hosting for a few years and have surfed around Europe a bit too. Had a few years off through Covid, moving countries, but I am looking forward to getting back into it.


Volunteering, connecting with my community and helping those in need.
Yoga, to keep me grounded.
DOGS DOGS DOGS DOGS because working with them keeps me sane.
Bouldering, to keep my brain and body active.
Hiking, I will follow anyone anywhere if it takes me into the wilderness
Exploring/tramping/traveling, what's the point in life if we don't?
Cycling, best way to travel within a city.
Driving, long distance if it's taking me somewhere new.
Gardening, have so much property!! Love our veggie garden
Music and movies, love hearing new and interesting music as well as sing-alongs on the uke and live gigs. Movies are my passion
Crocheting, knitting, sewing, patch making, any kind of craft! I've just recently been making pottery too!
Activism, we have to stand up for what is right. I feel it is our duty.
Vegan food, making and eating.

  • singing
  • dining
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • gardening
  • movies
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • pottery
  • knitting
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

Directors I would recommend: Jan Svankmajer, Lars Von Trier, Michael Haneke, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Wes Craven, Ti West, Harmony Korine, Jim Jarmusch, etc.
I love art house and Horror and anything 90s.
I am also a bit of a geek...I like Star Wars AND Star Trek.
I enjoy a bloody good Documentary.

My taste in music is very broad. My an example of a Playlist could be:
Radiohead, Pixies, Timber Timbre, DakhaBrakha, Laboratorium Pieśnii, Crass, Conflict, Bikini Kill, The Coathangers, The Cramps, Dead Kennedys, The Breeders, IDLES, Yann Tiersen, Ludovico Einaudi,, Bo Diddely, C W Stoneking, Chelsea Wolfe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Only one??? People do amazing shit every day!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can play the ukulele (beginner/intermediate), I can crochet, make cloth patches, knit, embroider, draw...
Want to learn everything and anything new.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A home away from home. Stories. Exciting and yummy vegan meals. And if I am available I can share with you my time and my secret favourite spots/hikes/things to do in Ōtautahi (Christchurch)!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bulgaria, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Latvia, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Amber Dyanne’s full profile.

My Groups