Amel Bali's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 28% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Arabic (Morocco)
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • History teacher
  • Medieval studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi,

I am a 29 year old guy from the Netherlands. I have a mixed ethnic (Dutch/Moroccan) background. I was raised with different cultures and find values such as diversity, tolerance, and equality very important.

I love getting to know new people, creating great memories, and sharing many a laugh over good food and drink. I'm an easy-going person and never quick to take offence. I tend to travel by either wandering around towns and cities, or covering long distances and taking in the journey. Either way, I try to learn about the history, politics and culture of wherever I go.

I studied medieval studies at Utrecht University. because of that I travelled to many European countries to visit castles, monasteries and other medieval buildings. I am now working as a history teacher at a Dutch school.

I love my job as history teacher. I can create my own work environment and every day is unique and exciting. I thoroughly enjoy teaching and motivating students to develop their understanding of history. The most rewarding aspect of the job is to see students grow in their knowledge and gain new insights. Lastly I love to help people .If i have an opportunity to help someone, I will do whatever it takes to give that help. Teaching is one way I get to help others daily.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

There is no greater experience than connecting soul to soul with people through stories and good conversation and learning from others around the globe. We are travellers, sojourners. We have much to share and welcome that sharing from others with gratitude when we travel

I believe in being open minded, accepting of others opinions and beliefs, supporting and encouraging others, and always learning from life experience, happiness is a state of mind! I believe material value compares poorly to the inestimable value of relationships, experience and life itself!

Interests

My interests can be considered as quite normal. I love traveling to different places of the world while my focus (because of my studies and also personal interest) is on Europe and Islamic North Africa. Furthermore, in order to be prepared for my travels I love studying new languages. I also love sports but especially football / soccer and tennis. I also like meeting friends and going out with them.

  • culture
  • art history
  • history
  • different cultures
  • teacher
  • medieval history

Music, Movies, and Books

i am a history buff and read a lot of history books. I mostly read (non-fiction) history books about the middle ages and early modern period. I am really interested in the interaction between the various religious and cultural groups during this period . I also love movies, especially thrillers. Finally, I love house and dance music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skydiving above Texel (Island in the Wadden Sea) & sleeping under the stars in the Moroccan Sahara

What I Can Share with Hosts

A good conversation and fantastic history stories. I also can teach you how to cook Morrocan or Dutch food.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Morocco, Poland, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Amel’s full profile.

My Groups