Amelie Vrla's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amelie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish; learning Persian (Farsi), Portuguese, Serbo-Croatian
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • screenwriter
  • litterature-media-cinema-travelling
  • From Paris, Île-de-France, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm a writer (screenplays, books) anda script doctor (helping other writers & directors write and improve their screenplays). I'm also a filmcritic and a translator (screenplays, subtitles)...

ABOUT ME

33, French, Czech Origins, I have travelled since my earliest age and discovering the world definitely is one of my biggest passions, the one I invest most in. I'm living in Berlin since 5 years, a city with great fantasy, excentricity, open mindness, green areas, open spaces and cheapness :), that I very much enjoy.

What I love about travelling is first and foremost to meet the locals, find out about their culture, habits, every day life, vision of life. I enjoy sharing new, differents ways of living. I love all kinds of food, discovering new music, new films, new books, new poems, seeing new landscapes, experiencing new things and sharing what I enjoy doing in life.

I'm not a great cook but am learning a bit more everyday and like to cook for others. In Berlin, I love getting people together to share big meals.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

always happy to meet up for drinks and to tell others about the cities I'm living in, and grateful for the opportunities I'm offered, when travelling, to meet people and get to share their way of living for a little while, to better understand and experience the countries I'm travelling in.

Interests

literature, cinema, writing, travelling, dancing, learning languages, going out, yoga, trekking, cycling, discovering new cultures and arts.......

  • writing
  • literature
  • theater
  • cooking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • languages
  • road trips
  • trekking

Music, Movies, and Books

Iranian cinema (Farhadi, Panahi, Kiarostami, ...), French cinema, independent/international cinema (I love discovering completely new directors and films which I never heard of in festivals), psychological dramas are probably my favorite, but I do enjoy good comedies, classics and the occasional series (Breaking Bad, Black Mirror, The Night Of, Fargo, ...)

Too many to quote, but my all time favorites are definitely Romain Gary and Albert Cohen. Other classics which come to mind would be Pinter, Daphné du Maurier, Ray Bradbury, Aldous Huxley...

World music, electronic music, jazz, blues, ... whatever makes me dance, touches my soul or helps write to the beat!
In Berlin I listen to a lot of electronic music but I always love it the most when it's mixed with world music - one of my favorite collective of DJs is Voodoohop, based in Brazil, with DJs from Turkey, Germany and Brazil who keep making me discover sounds and songs from all over the world - Japan to Africa.

One of my favorite track is Man O To remixed by NU, mashed up by Thomash from Voodoohop: where a gorgeous poem in farsi meets German electronic music and gets mashed up with Brazilian rap...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent a new year's eve in the jungle in India, admired the beauty of both the desert & the forest in Mexico, trekked to the gorgeous hills' tops of Sri Lanka, and had an elephant shake my wooden tree caban in the middle of the night in Botswana in search of fruits...

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm also teaching French, English and a bit of German and could share my knowledge. Currently learning Farsi and working on my Spanish.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My love of the city I live in (Berlin), good tips, a meal, drinks, a night out & a couch when it's free (we have a loooooot of friends crashing at our place all year round :) )

When travelling, I'm happy to share meals and to cook together, have drinks, tea, conversation, friendship!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Indian Ocean Territory, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Estonia, Ethiopia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Luxembourg, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amelie’s full profile. It’s free!