Logo orange

Julie Fuchs

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 78 Positive References1 Negative
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Customer Support Engineer
  • Electrical Engineering BS/MS
  • From North Wales, PA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To inspire and be inspired

ABOUT ME

I love life. I love meeting new people, learning new perspectives, thinking about anything and everything, and being able to stop thinking and just DO something.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to live without regrets because if I changed anything in my past, I wouldn't be the same person I am today, and anything bad that I go through just makes me a wiser person for tomorrow.

I've spent a lot of my life scared to try new things, so I'm trying to take advantage of any opportunities that come my way and to make my own opportunities.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Involved in 2011 Couchadelphia plans. Hosted some CS BBQ's. I try to spread the couchsurfing mentality and get other people to become involved.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Amazing. Had my first motorcycle ride with a Couchsurfer doing a short road trip. Spent five nights in one week in the UK going out and dancing with different hosts. Spent two days with another CouchSurfer having a blast and sleeping in the park during San Fermin in Pamplona. Was helped in Venice when I needed to see a doctor. Spent a week in Paris going to CS picnics. Baked brownies and chocolate chip cookies in Paris with my host. Had an impromptu birthday celebration during a CS BBQ I held. Hosted a campfire with another couchsurfer in the middle of Philadelphia. Hosted 16 people during Couchadelphia and held a house-wide, weekend-long Easter egg hunt.

Interests

Almost anything.

I'm interested in learning new things, gaining a new perspective, and meeting new people.

I love to eat (like to cook, hate to clean up), read, dance, have fun and live life with no regrets. I like doing adventurous things like rock-climbing, hiking through mountains, camping, and skydiving.

I love anything that makes me laugh whether it's some friendly banter or a comedy show.

Also, I love going on rides, especially things like the gravitron where you're pressed against the side of the ride as it spins around. I also love upside down roller coasters and wooden roller coasters.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Bollywood Romantic Comedies Comedies Ones that make you think Dramas Documentaries... Pretty much anything that won't scare the bejeesus out of me...

Music: People have tried to educate me, but it never works. I listen to what's playing and what makes me move.

Books: I love books Fantasies Books with twists "chick flicks" in novel form books that distract you from life anything that has a new idea and decent writing.

My personal favorite book accomplishment was either reading The Count of Monte Cristo, unabridged. 1365 pages (yes I remember the exact page count it was that big) of pure gold. Or my favorite book accomplishment was almost finishing a list of 45 books (1 1/2 books off!) within six months for a Reading Olympics competition (yes, such things do exist).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Climbed Mount Snowdon in Wales. Took longer than most people because I get winded easily, but I made it and got to enjoy the spectacular views from the top! Slept overnight in a cafe in Portsmouth, England. Went to Stone Henge during the summer solstice. Ran with the bulls in Pamplona. 'Learned' to drive stick on a Porsche Boxter.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach -bake brownies from scratch -oragami fortune tellers and cranes -the abridged version of "The Fresh Prince of Belair" -light coals without lighter fluid -basic Argentinian tango -how to stop a mosquito bite from itching -change a tire

Learn -Salsa dancing -Braille -Welding -

Share -stories from my travels -free hug

Countries I've Visited

Cambodia, France, Germany, Italy, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile