Logo orange

Amiria Kiddle

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amiria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 21 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Māori, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Architect
  • Parents, family, friends, university...
  • From Havelock North, New Zealand
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to learn te reo maori and build a little house

ABOUT ME

I grew up in New Zealand and am part Maori, Scottish, English, Spanish and a little bit of dutch and french - I love new zealand/aotearoa but am grateful to have seen lots of other lands over the past few years. I'm pretty chilled out - socially, I like having people over for a nice dinner or heading out to see a good band with friends. At the moment I'm living in my hometown, Havelock North, until July when I head to Spain and then after that I'm planning to move to Christchurch.

PHILOSOPHY

Go with the flow - life is happening exactly as it should so there is no point in stressing about anything

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have mostly surfed but have managed to host a few people since I've been back in NZ. When traveling I joined the groups of each city that I was in for a decent length of time and got to meet amazing people for language exchanges, sold some sandals and borrowed some fairy lights for a party

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Apart from my first surf, all of my other couch surfing experiences have been amazing! While traveling I have met the most wonderful people who have warmly welcomed me into their lives and homes and shown me their towns/cities from unique viewpoints - it really changed my experience of traveling as I felt less like a tourist and more like I was visiting old friends on the other side of the world. Hosting is a great opportunity to repay the favor, meet awesome people and it's fun finding interesting things for people to do around my home town

Interests

I like to: laugh (a lot!), travel, meet people and learn about their cultures, learn languages, design houses, play a bit of guitar, dance, sing along to Fat Freddies or Crowded House when I get homesick, sing Regulate at karaoke, meditate, see and create art & architecture, learn to surf, snowboard, chat to taxi drivers in Peru, swim in the sea, eat guacamole and corn chips, go to open mic nights, practice yoga

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Fat Freddies Drop, Phoenix Foundation, Black Seeds, Ladi6, Crowded House, Jurassic 5, Handsome Boy Modeling School, Kanye West, Connan Mockasin, Trinity Roots, Redgy Blackout, Tropical Downbeat Orchestra, Ben Harper, Erykah Badu

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Run a marathon, seen the salt flats in Bolivia, spent 10 days without talking (twice!)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you a song from New Zealand, help practice spanish - I am also learning te reo maori so can teach a little bit of that

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Brazil, Chile, Cook Islands, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Canada, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Amiria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile