Amjad Khursheed's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amjad’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 62, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Energy scientist/Regulator
  • Doctorate Imperial College, London
  • From Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Hi there, I currently live in a cool neighborhood of Scotland's largest city, but I am really a lover of the outdoors.

Well travelled from an early age - navigated a road trip from Scotland to Pakistan at the age of 11. Long trips in Africa and Asia. Worked in the "bush" in remotes places in the Pacific region for a development charity in my early twenties - our own airstrip and boat twice a month sort of places.

As well as getting out on the Scottish hills,
I do some modest social and environmental activism in a low key way.

If we have different world views, I hope you do not mind being quizzed and possibly challenged. However, I draw the line at hosting anyone with racist or fascist views.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have space where I live which is not used and it depresses me how much costs to get a bed in Scotland.

At a stage in my life where I would like to meet people - to be honest, this could apply to every stage! My sons have left home and it would be nice to think I might stay current by meeting travelling people.

More likely to host for guests who have visibly given something back e.g. hosted themselves or who are motivated by something greater than personal self-discovery.


I am interested in almost any aspect of living on this planet.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music of different sorts is important to me, although I do not seriously play any instruments. Most recently I have been banging a bass surdo drum in a samba band.

I can talk about books and films. Also sport.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled from United Kingdom to Pakistan and back by car when I was 11 years old. I was principal navigator!

Teach, Learn, Share

Would love to improve my Spanish.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happy to show people around, feed them, take them for a fish or hike in the mountains if they have gear for Scottish mountains, hang out in the city.

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Amjad’s full profile.