Anat Meir

Harashim, Northern district, Israel

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anat’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Spanish; learning Amharic, Arabic, Russian
  • 63, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • teaching Hebrew-on-line
  • in University and many many other places, and by myself
  • From Israel, kibbutz Gaaton
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


stop human cruelty against animals ans other sentient beings.


I live in a small place in the green mountains of the north of Israel, which is called the Galilee. The area is very very varied humanwise. There are many Druze, Muslims, and Christian Arabs. Also there are many New comers from ex USSR, some Jews, many not. So I have the privilege of a having a daily interaction with all those people around me. All the holidays are being celebrated in this area, and there are lights and vacations and shopping hits on Rosh Hashana (Jewish new year), Ramadan, Christmas etc. I love this pluralism, all the languages and the different cultures.
I shift between simplicity and indulgence, between the understanding that all I need is right here, and the desire to travel and visit other places. between enjoying solitude and peacefulness and having many friends and occupations.
to sum it up - everything always changes, except this principle.


"the finger pointing towards the moon is not the moon"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Since I was a child, I always liked to meet and host people from other countries. Growing up in a kibbutz, there was a chance to meet and host volunteers from different countries. So I was always CS in my heart.

I tell many people about CS project and encourage them to join. I wish I could meet with more CSes but it's hard, I live in the periphery with not much transportation.


hosted and was hosted, like them both. I find that because of where I live, and the lack of public transportation it's hard for people to come here, and sorry for that. I enjoyed very very much our hosts in Italy. That's what I like - to know the people in the country where they live.


nature, natural healing, people, vegetarianism, simple life, India, Buddhist meditation, retreats and teachings, animal and human rights, silence, peace and non violence.

Music, Movies, and Books

music: mozart, arik einstein, los fronterizos,and more
movies: as many as possible...
books: buddhist, meir shalev, ianush kortchak, indian (from india) writers and many more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I gave birth to 2 children who grew up to be good people.

Teach, Learn, Share

hebrew (that's my occupation),buddhist (vipassana) meditation, many of the wild plants of my area and their usages.
I love to learn languages and would like to learn Yiddish, French and improve my Arabic.

Countries I’ve Visited

Egypt, France, India, Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Israel, Netherlands, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Anat’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups