Andrés Melo Gámez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrés’s full profile.


  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Sign Language - American, Spanish; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Family Services Worker
  • Yes
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

“It is our choices, (...), that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

Hola, my name is Andrés, and I am always looking for new experiences that add to my growth. I was born and raised in Colombia before moving to Canada, where I work as a family services worker and strive to make every day slightly better than the last one.

I am passionate about learning new languages, including Spanish, Sign Language, and English. I also love exploring new cultures through travel, trying new foods, and engaging with locals. When I’m not travelling, you can find me enjoying Disney movies, sitcoms, and having a good time. I am also trying to get back into practicing capoeira, and I enjoy listening to podcasts and audiobooks in my free time.

I am the proud not-a-dad of Bruno, my lovable Bernese mountain dog, who is just like me in dog form. I also have a love for houseplants and enjoy stargazing and biking in my free time.

I am open to conversation about a wide variety of topics, including politics, feminism, language exchange, deaf culture, and tarot. I am also a big fan of quidditch and am a proud Hufflepuff. I am committed to being a gay-friendly host and value accuracy and inclusivity in all of my interactions.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on Couchsurfing because I believe in the power of human connection and sharing experiences. I love meeting new people and learning about different cultures, and I see Couchsurfing as a great way to do that while also helping others discover my city and its vibrant community. Plus, who doesn't love the opportunity to stay in a cozy home while travelling rather than a generic hotel room? I'm excited to host and meet fellow travellers and make new friends along the way!



  • dogs
  • dancing
  • capoeira
  • coffee
  • politics
  • traveling
  • podcasts
  • languages
  • sign language
  • language exchange
  • eating
  • stargazing
  • biking
  • feminism
  • conversation
  • language learning
  • quidditch
  • audiobooks
  • deaf culture
  • tarot
  • gayfriendly
  • houseplants
  • disney
  • house plants
  • entomophagy
  • edibles
  • hufflepuff
  • accuracy

Music, Movies, and Books

Tropipop, Fiction, Disney

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- My boyfriend
- Seen the Aurora Borealis

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm excited to learn about other cultures and ways of life, and am always open to trying new things. I'd love to share my knowledge of Colombian culture, language, and history with my guests, as well as my experiences as a Queer, newcomer, and racialized individual. In return, I'd be happy to learn anything you'd like to teach me, whether it's a new skill, hobby, or cultural tradition. I'm also passionate about social justice and activism, so if you have similar interests, I'd love to chat about ways we can make a positive impact in our communities.

What I Can Share with Hosts

As a language enthusiast, I would love to practice my skills and help others improve their own language abilities. I'm open to language exchange and happy to converse in Spanish, English, or even American Sign Language. I'm also a plant parent and would love to share my knowledge and love of greenery with others. If you're into Disney movies, good food, or politics, I'm always down for a chat about those topics too. Additionally, I'm open to learning about your interests and hobbies and finding ways to connect through shared experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cuba, France, Germany, Mexico, Portugal, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Chile, Colombia

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrés’s full profile.

My Groups