Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 42% response rate
  • Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 20 References 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Croatian, French, Portuguese
  • 73, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired teacher
  • masters in both psychology and art therapy; BA in English
  • From Dallas, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Experiencing the culture & history of Europe, with emphasis on Spain, Portugal, and the former countries of Yugoslavia.


My friends describe me as very accepting of others, courageous, and funny. Very wide range of interests. Love kids. In a previous trip to UK my top experiences were the Abbey of St. Kevin (Glendalough) and the library that features the Book of Kells.
Love to learn: Acquired Spanish as an adult and learn a few phrases of local language when we are traveling.


Learning to say Yes to life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Our house is open to receive guests. Have had unforgettable, glorious experiences as a CS traveler.


Traveled to Spain and Portugal for four weeks in late spring of 2010 and had 7 fabulous Couch Surfing experiences. It was my first big trip, done entirely on my own. Introduced my husband to CS on our honeymoon in 2012.


Nature (the silence of Big Bend National Park in Texas!) gardening, music (including chant), dancing: Latin & Ballroom. Interest in Christian-Buddhist dialogue. History, especially WWII. Child Psychology.

  • culture
  • books
  • dancing
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • surfing
  • history
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite movies: Schindler's List, Billy Elliott. Music: Time to Say Goodbye by Sarah Brightman and Pachelbel's Canon. Author/teacher: Eckhart Tolle. I also like reading Biblical Exegesis and author of choice on this is Raymond E. Brown.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Made a silent retreat for 30 days in a small town in Louisiana.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to think that I have some wisdom to share. Some of the most enlightened beings I have met have included children in a school for students with developmental delays, and other little folks 3 or 4 years old.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am an enthusiastic dishwasher , window washer, love to dig in gardens, weeding, pruning, and whatever else needs tending. Same can be said for my husband, Frank.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Montenegro, Nicaragua, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups