Andrew's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 109 references 64 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Engineer
  • Neuroscience
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hello, Hola, Bonjour! I'm Andrew, I was born in Peru, grew up on the Canadian west coast, went to school on the Canadian east coast, and then worked in Chicago for 2 years in consulting. Recently moved to San Francisco to work at Google as an Application Engineer!

My life has taken me to a lot of places and on many interesting experiences. Last year, I dropped a comfortable job to go spend some months in the Czech Republic. I'm hoping to live abroad again in the near future.

I enjoy expanding my horizons and broadening my understanding of people, places, and cultures. This includes meeting different people from the same city: I believe we all have different experiences and I love hearing everybody's story.

I'm amazed by how much I learn about myself and life every year that passes, I'm fascinated by the experiences others have had and the wisdom they've gathered over their lives. I value opportunities to have meaningful conversations and share wisdom, experiences, discoveries.

I love learning through documentaries or reading. I'm interested in a wide array of topics including philosophy, spirituality, psychology, economics, politics, neuroscience, history, anthropology, etc. Right now I'm particularly interested in existentialism, Buddhism, and veganism.

I enjoy traveling whenever I can, I've been to 50 countries so far and hope to add to that list over the next few years. My favourite part of discovering a new country is trying the food and the language. I always enjoy hearing a new language, even if I don't understand it.

Now that I'm in California, I'm hoping to not be a total workaholic, so I'd like to be an active host and travel through my guests: learn about where they're from, what their culture is like, what language they speak, what their views are. Feel free to send me a request or message me if you're in San Francisco and need a host or would just like to meet up. If you've read this far and are interested in surfing with me, mention your favourite food or drink in your request so I know you read my full profile.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Being a host has been an amazing experience. Meeting new people from different places and instantly bonding because they're also open minded and friendly is a great feeling. I've only surfed a few time, but hopefully I can do more of it in the future!

Interests

Traveling and food are my favourite interests! If we meet up, let's try some exciting new cuisine.

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a big fan of international literature and historical fiction. I love Milan Kundera and I'm currently reading my way through Russian Classics. I'm not picky on where my novels take place, I've enjoyed plenty set in Africa, Asia, and Europe. I love experiencing a new culture through reading!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I read an article on The Independent about the increasing use of opium in Afghanistan, but what stood out to me was learning about a remote region where they used opium to treat all illnesses and injuries because it was their only medical resource. Getting medicine to this region was expensive, dangerous, and difficult, so there was literally no alternative to just using addictive opium. So I decided I would take medicine to the people there. I started a short but rewarding journey towards northeastern Afghanistan. Our vehicle coming under gun fire at a military checkpoint was probably the lowest point. The highest point was meeting a German health worker who was working in the region, so she was able to better distribute the medicine across the region.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share some interesting travel stories or information about countries you are interested in visiting that I have already been to.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Friendship, hospitality, engaging conversations.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Belarus, Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Netherlands, North Korea, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Peru, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.

My Groups