Andrew J's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.


  • 14 references
  • Fluent in English, Romanian, Russian; learning French
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Teacher
  • Undergraduate degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To make the most of my time in Ukraine by meeting like-minded locals and travellers.


I'm a very positive, glass-half-full type of person. I love to travel and experience places as much as possible by meeting the locals, eating their food, drinking in their bars, walking their streets and trying to speak their language!! I've been given a great opportunity by getting a teaching job in Kiev and I plan to make the most of it!


It's a cliche but I believe life is short and that time is the most precious resource we have. Money and work are important to an extent but life is really about the experiences you have, not how much you earn.

I have opinions about politics, philosophy etc but don't feel the need to argue about them a lot and appreciate meeting people with different views.

My life isn't perfect but I'm very lucky compared to a lot of people and I think it's important to be thankful for what you do have.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have used CS to make friends while living in both Bucharest and Kiev. I've also used it to meet cool people on my travels. I've had a lot of great experiences thanks to this site.


Travelling is my major passion and I love to meet local people and truly experience the places I go to. In fact I love to socialise and meet people in general. In no particular order I also like playing and watching sports, pubs and nightclubs, cooking, photography, live music, reading, the gym, mountains, beaches, castles, forests, cities, learning languages, films and much more.

  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • watching sports
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • sports
  • languages
  • beaches
  • mountains

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Staying with local families in Peru and Colombia. This was by pure luck ... I met people while travelling and ended up staying at their houses! It let me see how ordinary people lived and got me away from the tourist areas. This was my best memory of travelling in South America and is part of the reason why Couchsurfing appeals to me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Oman, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Romania, Russian Federation, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.