Logo orange

Andrew Barr

Merced, California, United States

Accepting Guests

Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Hebrew (modern), Persian (Farsi), Portuguese, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student and Piano teacher
  • PhD Student in Applied Math
  • From Seattle, Washington
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live!

ABOUT ME

I am a PhD student at the UC Merced. My favorite things to do are read and play piano. I also love playing frisbee and longboarding. I come from a big family and have 1 awesome brother and 3 beautiful sisters. For all of my life, it has been my goal to explore the world. Now that I am a bit older, this is finally a possibility. I am half-Peruvian and have gotten the chance to know people from all over the world. I really think sites like this are very important for the world because these connections and friendships draw people together and show us that we are not very different at all.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I look forward to getting to know many people through the CS project. I love to show people the real city of Seattle and introduce them to places that most people visiting would not see.

I am now able to host people coming to Merced (close to Yosemite). I live close to the Amtrak station in Merced. I also know the other CSers here and if I feel you may be a better fit for them, I can let you know! I live around the corner from one of them.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I surfed at Ramses´ place in Brasilia and had a blast with him.

I have surfed in Chicago and had a great time.

I am always meeting CSers at meetups and hostels!

I stayed on many couches in Brasil but unfortunately they aren´t CS members...yet!

Interests

Music-I love everything from very classical piano to punk rock and metal. I am trying to form a punk band now and was in a band that did a little bit of metal.
Math-I love math. On the pure side, mostly geometry and complex analysis at this time.
Applied Math- Image Processing, Computer Vision, and numerical methods for Diff Eqs.
Sports-I LOVE playing sports though my interests have changed over years. I used to do boxing, wrestling, and American Football but now I mostly play frisbee as much as possible.
Skate- I used to work at a skate store but dont use skateboards too much. I love to ride a longboard a lot though.
I try to go Salsa dancing when possible, but do not think I am very good yet :) In Brazil so far I have learned a bit of Forró and Merengue so if you dance that is really really cool! haha I would like to meet and go Forró :) so if you can´t see, I LIKE FORRÓ A LOT
I used to think of going to fashion school, but now just try to think of things and show them to some friends. I make some of my own stuff but just for fun and attend fashion events when possible.

Music, Movies & Books

To be honest, I really don't get the chance to see many movies, but I do have a few that I particularly enjoy. My favorite of all time is Westside Story, followed by: Back to the Future, I Robot, Star Trek: First Contact, 2001, and any movie with Jackie Chan.
My favorite books are: Tortilla Flat (Steinbeck), Surely Your Joking Mr. Feynman, anything by Gabriel García Márquez, Cirque du Freak series, Beowulf, Slaughterhouse-five (Vonnegut), Breakfast of Champions (Vonnegut) Vargas Llosa, Brave New World, Interviews with a Vampire, i always love any suggestions too

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Twice a year, I have a huge recital for each of my piano students, and this last year, with some of my students I have taught for 5 years now, from knowing nothing, was incredible to see how much they had learned. It is easy to become discouraged or feel very inadequate and dumb at a big university, but that experience was a time where I felt I could make a difference in someone's life by teaching them something I love.

Teach, Learn, Share

well, I have taught music for over 6 years to people of all areas so I feel I have some experience teaching music. I love to garden but unfortunately can't at my place (raccoons!) so I would be happy to help someone get theirs set up. I practice very healthy eating, sprouting a variety of beans, making seitan, and making drinks like Kombucha or beet kvass. In Brazil I loved the Coxinha and Kibe so I am not sooo healthy. I also cook food from all of the world, especially Peru, but I am experienced cooking Mexican and Indian food (most of my piano students are Indian). Now in Israel, I love all the salads, delicious dairy, and lamb,.

Countries I've Visited

Brazil, Colombia, Peru

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile