Logo orange

Anita's Groups

Anita Roy

Nanoose Bay, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anita's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 31 Positive References
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning Bengali, Bangla, French, Hindi, Persian (Farsi)
  • 59, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • I am a full time band mom, unschoole...
  • Mostly by life, but some university,...
  • From Manchester, Kanpur, Copenhagen, Montreal & Nanoose Bay
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To write the great Canadian novel, become a goddess, change the world, heal the planet, heal myself and my dysfunctional-extended-family and continue to do useful things in my community. To get healthier, and exercise my creativity daily.

ABOUT ME

Cultural Identity
www.goddessunplugged.com/anita

Currently living in Nanoose Bay, in the same house since 1997, with my fabulous family. We have extended family visiting us from all over the world every year. As part of our unschooling regimen, (www.unschooling.ca), we went to India 2006/2007 for five months while the boys were still teens and able to travel with us. I am half Danish/half Bengali and my husband is born and raised in Iran, so we've got it all covered. ;-)

We have two cats and a small piece of agricultural land in Errington. We enjoy our lives, and lots of music.

PHILOSOPHY

I used to want to change the world, but now I am happy if I can leave the room with dignity.... :-)

but seriously, I do want to change the world, so I start with myself, by trying to be reasonable.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We participate by hosting lots of CSers, and by being guests. Right now, we have hosted more than stayed, but that could change.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have hosted a few times now and it was great. However, MANY people have unofficially surfed our couch for years. :-)

Most of our experiences was great. One unpleasant no-show and one annoying host who said "sorry, last minute, can't do it because I'm busy". But overall, GREAT. People have been very kind to us all over the world and we are really happy about those times.

Interests

Just about everything. Special interest in Family Constellation work, Sasquatch research, freecycling, ecopsychology, hot yoga, art and play therapy, how the brain works, how traumas can be healed and lots more. It's all connected, so hard to pin it down.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Dead Man Walking, Harold & Maude, Witness
Books: A Mantis Carol, Song of the Pearl
Music: Eclectic, my own kids' music

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Have done LOTS of things. But the most amazing thing is my relationship with my husband. We have gone through so much together, I call it Emotional Yoga or Heart Yoga. Learning How to Love has got to be the most amazing thing I have done. I am not even counting all my adventures, like the time I jumped 1 metre over water onto a leaving ferry in the Faroe Islands or had to walk through an attacking tern colony in Iceland.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach: (some) Bengali cooking, chai from scratch. Systemic Constellation. Laughter Yoga. How to Listen Effectively.

Want to learn Arabic, Hindi, new ideas to change the world, how to expand my brain.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Iceland, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Denmark, India, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Anita's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile