Anna IKL's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • Science research
  • BSc
  • From British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've been living in Montreal for 7 years now and love it here. This city is so vibrant -- even in the dead of winter! I just finished a contract as a data analyst in the field of conservation biology and I'm off to travel for a bit! Spending some time in Europe, visiting a few cities then meeting up with family.

In my spare time I like to bike around the city. I really believe it's the best way to get to know a place. My schedule was way too hectic this summer to get any cyclocamping trips in this year unfortunately, but next year I'm determined to do it! In the summer I love gardening on my back balcony, having picnics with friends. Late summer and early fall is all about preserving foods: drying hot peppers and making tomato sauce mostly. In the winter I like cross-country skiing (still a beginner!), ice fishing and curling up on the couch under a blanket and eating soup. Spring is all about tuning up my bike and getting those lovely first rides of the season in.

When I'm not gardening, biking, cooking baking or picnic-ing in the park, you'll probably find me marathoning TV shows. Currently obsessed with Westworld! Probably going to start Mr. Robot soon.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I know everyone says this, but it's really amazing to meet locals when traveling. My best couchsurfing experience isn't even MY couchsurfing experience: my old roommate stayed with someone on couchsurfing in New Orleans. This person ended up moving to Montreal a few years later and now she's one of my best friends!

Interests

Data analysis, rivers, ecology, biodiversity, land use management, conservation

Cooking, baking, gardening, cycling, TV, food preservation

  • cooking
  • picnic
  • baking
  • gardening
  • tv
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • biology
  • ecology
  • rivers
  • nature conservation

Music, Movies, and Books

I generally prefer TV to movies: Westworld, GoT, The Americans, BoJack Horseman, Bob's Burgers, RuPaul's Drag Race, Survivor, Arrested Development... many more...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I once stayed a few nights in a lighthouse keeper's house on a tiny island on the west coast of Canada. A friend of mine was the sanctuary guardian for the nature reserve on and around the island and invited us to stay. It was just us, hundreds of (very aggressive) seagulls (it's a nesting ground), some seals and a few sea lions! It was really magical to be so close to wildlife and so

It was a really special experience because we were so isolated from other people, so close to wildlife, but also staying in a proper house. We went up to the top lighthouse for sunset which was amazing.

Countries I’ve Visited

England, France, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Norway, Philippines, Singapore, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile. It’s free!