Logo orange

Annika Gilljam

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland, Sweden

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Annika's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 24 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • working with horses at a ranch
  • political science, philosophy and ec...
  • From Göteborg, västra götalands län, sweden
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

juggle four balls

ABOUT ME

I am currently living at a ranch in the countryside where I work with horses and try become a better horsewoman, meaning that I am putting my dedication to create partnership with horses and become better at understanding their nature and training them accordingly. At the ranch we work a lot with rescue horses that people have given up on because they don't know how to handle them. We think they deserve a second chance. Horses are incredibly interesting creatures and the more I interact with them the more fascinated I get!
Fortunately for me, there are many things I enjoy in life. Besides spending time with horses and other animals I also enjoy playing and listening to music, dancing, eating/drinking in the company of dear friends, bike riding, analog photography and more. I have studied political science, economics and philosophy and really enjoy studying. I am quite talkative and outspoken and I am especially interested in politics and philosophy. I can spend a long time on conversations about animal ethics, political philosophy and of course horses. Especially horses. If you're not interested, then don't get me started.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe in living life in an active manner, with open eyes seeing way beyond your own nose. There are always new things to learn and challenges to take that make you evolve. That being said, it is important to respect your own values and not let them be stepped on or put yourself in situations you are not comfortable with. Self respect is a virtue.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

PLEASE READ: I am tired of certain invites I receive frequently. I am not interested in dating and will not reply to any messages starting with "hi beautiful" or containing messages like "I will treat you like a queen". I have interests and skills and they have nothing to do with being beautiful or wanting to be treated like a queen. If I want to surf your couch I will ask, no need to invite me. Use CS wisely or it will never last!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

many wonderful experiences in europe and south america. I have hosted very little and dont have the opportunity right now. But When I have the space I really want to host, especially people that I can practice spanish or french with!

Interests

animals, music, politics, philosophy, literature, art, natural horsemanship, photography

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: von Trier, David Lynch, Roy Andersson, Las Palmas, Solanas

Music: fleetwood mac, feist, fleet foxes, Joni Mitchell, simon and garfunkel, the radio dept, Bach, Satie, Chet Baker, Jan Johansson, Magnus Carlson, Chopin, El perro del mar, Neil young, Monica Zetterlund, David Bowie, the velvet underground, Nina Simone, Bob Dylan and the list goes on...

Books: E. Galeano, J.S. Foer, N. Björk, H. Hesse, P. smith, Söderberg

One Amazing Thing I've Done

-Hiking to Machu Picchu
-Stopping all car traffic on the streets of Buenos Aires in Masa critica
-Hitchhiking to and hiking up the swedish mountain Kebnekaise and seeing the beautiful north of sweden
-The astonishing beaches of Ilha Grande

Teach, Learn, Share

teach: If you have an interest in horses I could teach the basics of natural horsemanship

Learn: spanish, percussion, horsemanship, instruments in general

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Luxembourg, Norway, Peru, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Canada, Sweden, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Annika's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile