Annimaria's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Annimaria’s full profile.


  • 22 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning German, Polish, Spanish, Swedish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • I'm studying at university, but no degree yet.
  • From Säkylä, Finland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To discover new things both about my self and the world.


I love to travel, to meet new people and to learn new things. Very curious and always interested in almost everything. I read a lot; books, magazines, blogs, newspapers practically anything having writing on it that I lay my hands or eyes on.

I study sociology and I am very interested in various social phenomena. At the moment I'm especially keen on discovering how social media works and what makes people feel that their life is meaningful. I'm also writing my dissertation (in the UK meaning of the word) on citizen activism and opinion on wolves in South-Western Finland.


I live my life to enjoy as much good food, drink and company as possible.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I try to host as much as possible and I try to be a good guest when I'm surfing myself.


I was warmly welcomed by the couch surfing community in Newcastle when I first heard about the project and after that I've experienced the same hospitality, openness and general awesomeness of couch surfers in many different countries. I've also had the opportunity to host some really amazing and interesting people.


Reading, knitting, travelling, food (both cooking and eating it!), beer (drinking, serving, brewing), nature (hiking, ice skating, skiing and whatever takes me to the most amazing places), photography, writing, social media, general geekery, journalism, cycling, feminism and everything that seems new and interesting at the moment. I also kinda wish to save the world, but I'm not always sure what is the most urgent issue.

  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • womens rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • knitting
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • communications
  • journalism
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music that I listen to:

Movies that I've really enjoyed:

John Hillcoat: The Road
Kira Muratova: Melody for a Street Organ
Bahman Ghobadi: No One Knows About Persian Cats
Lars von Trier: Dancer in the Dark
Ingmar Bergman: Saraband
Ang Lee: Brokeback Mountain
Darren Aronofsky: Black Swan
Coen Brothers: No Country for Old Men
Jean-Marc Vallée: Dallas Buyers Club

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing in my life are all the lovely friends I've met in my lifetime.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well at least I'll be able to teach people how to knit and crochet if anyone's interested in these old fashioned skills.

I also speak Finnish as my mother tongue, so if anyone's interested in learning this beautiful but complicated northern language I'll be happy to help.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Poland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Annimaria’s full profile.

My Groups