Logo orange

Annina Wallinsalo

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login 6 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Annina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • youth worker
  • special guidance instructor, trabajo...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy all the wonderful spring festivals

ABOUT ME

Hi there!

I start this by telling that I'm quite busy at times and if I for some reason can't host you, you should still ask because I have met great people through this website.

I work as a youth worker and my days are filled with many kind of different activities and happenings with kids and young people. In my free-time I like to try new things and enjoy the stuff I like for example arts & crafts, hiking in nature, learning to roller skate again, movies, gigs, culture and travelling. I enjoy a good conversation and a bottle of wine.

I'm quite active in one or two nature organizations through my work and my own interests and it is quite possible that someday when I woke up, I decide to pack my bags and leave to Latin America to do some voluntary work (help women to read for example). It's been a dream of mine for a very long time.

Anyways, write me a message if you travel to Helsinki and you are in need of a couch.

***

Hola!

Voy a empezar contando que soy bastante ocupado pero si no te puedo acomodarte por algun razón, es mejor que te preguntes de todos modos porque he conocido buena gente a través de esta pagina.

Lo que yo hago es trabajo social con niños y jovenes en un centro de servicios a la juventud. En mi tiempo libre me gusta hacer por ejemplo arte, vacasiones en la naturaleza, practicar con patínes de ruedas, mirar películas, ir a conciertos, disfrutar cultura y viajar. Me gusta una buena convercación con una botella de buen vino.

Soy muy activo en una o dos organizaciónes de naturaleza a través de mi trabajo y interés personal. Es muy probable que algun dia cuando despierto, voy a empaquear mis cosas y ir a Latina América para hacer trabajo voluntario, por ejemplo ayudar mujeres a leer etc. A sido mi sueño por mucho tiempo.

De todos modos, escribeme un mensaje si te viajas a Helsinki y te necesitas una sofa.

PHILOSOPHY

"Social order at the expense of liberty is hardly a bargain." -Marquis de Sade

Respect. Trust should be earned. Be open-minded. It's better to burn out than fade away.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted and met great new people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

This is a good way to meet people who probably share same interests, help out, have new friends around the World and have a good time.

Interests

Culture, history, travelling, politics and human/animal rights, music, friendship, coffee, arts and crafts, food & wine, adventures... getting lost and finding something new and wonderful.

Music, Movies & Books

Some movies: Monty Python's Life of Brian, True Romance (1993), Dead Poets Society, Pan's Labyrinth, 12 Monkeys, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Donnie Darko, Walk the Line, Volver, Reservoir Dogs, Grease, Edward Scissorhands, Alien, Babel, Nightmare before Christmas, Thelma & Louise, Cry Baby, The Doors, Piano, Trainspotting, American Beauty etc.

Some artists: Carlos Santana, Morrissey, Marilyn Manson, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Annie Lennox, Chris Isaak, Valravn, Jarabe de Palo, Joy Division, Pulp, HIM, Muse, The Clash, Leonard Cohen, Johnny Cash, Janis Joplin, Nekromantix, Stiff Little Fingers, Van Morrison etc.

Some books: Cities of the Red Night, Nineteen Eighty Four George Orwell, Marilyn Manson Long Hard Road Out of Hell, Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Sharon Osbourne Autobiography, The Shadow of the Wind, Bonesetter's Daughter, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Mrs Dalloway etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Bungee jumping, The Great Wall of China, Sahara desert. Those three came to mind first. visited 22 states (9.77%)Create your own visited map of The World or Brazil travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you places if I have the time. For example Seurasaari which is a island and a district in Helsinki known for its open air museum and old, mainly wooden buildings. This is a nice place for a walk and piknik. The wonderful coffee place Villa Angelica near Seurasaari which was built in 1901 is a perfect place to enjoy some romantic time together.

Then there is the district of Kallio, near Hakaniemi which is the most densely populated areas in Finland. Kallio is an area preferred by students and artists. Kallio (and Harju, which is often considered a part of Kallio) also has, more than any other district in Helsinki, a reputation as a "bohemian" and liberal area. The area has a heterogeneous population and a large number of bars. The area also has a number of sex shops and strip joints. This does not mean that the area would not offer anything, instead there are many art shows and cultural happenings each month.

I also have to mention Uutela, which is located on the east side of Helsinki, near the last metro station Vuosaari. From the metro station you can either walk (5-10min) or take the busline 90K. Uutela is situated by the sea, and it has a small idyllic harbor where regular people have their boats. Uutela also has a small coffee shop “Kaunis Kampela” where they offer traditional pancakes and salmon soup. This area is known for hikers and outdoor people because of it's beautiful landscape.

Countries I've Visited

China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Annina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile