Accepting Guests

  • 81% response rate
  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katharina’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 29 References 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Teacher
  • No education listed
  • From Wächtersbach, Hesse, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To enjoy my summer holidays to the fullest!


I love travelling ever since I've been a baby ;-)


I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing. (Agatha Christie)

Wirklich reich ist, wer mehr Träume in seiner Seele hat als die Realität zerstören kann.

We all start as strangers.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When you grow up everyone tries to teach you that there are a lot of evil people in the world and that you should always be careful and then you start to travel and you realise that there are a hell lot of generous and warm-hearted people out there. I have been on Couchsurfing for almost 10 years now and I strongly believe in the concept of opening up your door to strangers especially when countries and politicians start to built fences around countries again instead of further breaking them down.


I surf and host - I enjoy both equally! I also love to go to the cinema or theatre with couchsurfers.


I met some very interesting people through couchsurfing and made some real friends. Also, as a student I wouldn't have had the chance to travel as much as I did without couchsurfing simply because it helps you to save money.


As a teacher I find it important never to stop being a learner as well...

  • books
  • dining
  • sauna
  • shopping
  • movies
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • laughing
  • sleeping
  • bars
  • theatre
  • couchsurfing
  • gym
  • sushi
  • family and friends
  • crime stories
  • mojitos
  • rail travels

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: A long way down, Der Glanz in ihren Augen, Nokan-Die Kunst des Ausklangs, James Bond, Stein der Geduld, Rote Laterne, In schwarzer Haut, Invictus, The next three days, EatPrayLove, Zusammen ist man weniger allein...

Ich mag generell sehr gerne Action-Filme und bin da auch nicht besonders wählerisch, Hauptsache es kracht und explodiert. Liebesfilme finde ich auch super, da aber nur die guten ;-)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Can't decide...
Driving 4500km through the Australian west in 4 days.
Wild camping. No matter where. I love it. Every time.
Attending a traditional rural South African wedding.
Cape of Good Hope, South Africa.
Whale safari.
Falling in love.

What I Can Share with Hosts

German candy and/or beer, interesting stories

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, Kenya, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Katharina’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups