Photos de Lily Karabaic

Profil non vérifié

  • Membre non vérifié par paiement
  • Numéro de téléphone non vérifié
  • Pièce d'identité non vérifiée
  • Adresse non vérifiée

Souhaite faire des rencontres

  • Dernière connexion il y a 3 days

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de Lily. L'inscription est gratuite !

Présentation

  • 14 Références 8 Confirmé et positif
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, German
  • 30, Female
  • Membre depuis 2006
  • Personal Finance Teacher + Small Biz Owner
  • Economics!
  • De Cincinnati, OH, USA
  • Profil renseigné à 100 %

À propos de moi

CURRENT MISSION

In September 2017, I am taking trains (and one ferry) from Dublin, Ireland > Shanghai, China over the course of a month, through 10 countries. I will be podcasting about economics along the way, but mostly geeking about trains.

ABOUT ME

I'm a Midwesterner living in Portland, Oregon where I travel around the US teaching personal finance and making comic books about economics. Since I left the midwest, I have lived in an 8-foot cardboard geodome, at a Catholic Worker house, two housing co-ops (one small and one large), in a homestead in rural India, in Berlin, and at a "hippie commune." I recently lived in a dome that I built out of recycled materials. I ride a hot pink & yellow cargo bike.

I like to volunteer, make zines, swing on trapezes, tango dance, eat and grow food, and take pictures. I cook food and I ride bikes a lot. I write good letters and if you want to write me a letter, I'll write back.

PHILOSOPHY

Every minute on a bike is a minute spent in perfect balance.

"Hope is not what we seek out in evidence, but what we become in action." - Frances Moore Lappe

Pourquoi je suis sur Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have surfed all over Europe, hosted quite a lot in the past. Right now I'm trying to do "brunch parties" and invite travelers/hosts over more than I'm doing hosting, due to the size of my apartment and my schedule.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

no-couch couch-surfing, collective space surfing, lots of cats couch surfing, tent couch surfing, tree platform-no-couch-surfing... Hopefully many more.

I've hosted a bunch of couchsurfers through the collective house I lived at in Eugene, OR but have been moving too often to host in the past few years. Now we mostly host touring cyclists. I've surfed in many places in Europe and a little in the US and I LOVE CS.

In the summer of 2010, I traveled to India (via Switzerland). We stayed with local families for the three months while we were there, and in Zurich we couchsurfed and met lots of local couchsurfing hosts and travellers at the couchsurfing meetup.

Centres d'intérêt

Trains, bikes, economics, and vegan food.

  • cats
  • culture
  • dancing
  • tango
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • partying
  • politics
  • cycling
  • economics
  • languages
  • social work
  • volunteering
  • queer
  • queer culture

Morceaux de musique, films et livres

Ooof. In short: the last one I read.

Une aventure extraordinaire que j'ai vécue

In my life I have: started a non-profit, lived and worked for a summer in India, biked down the Pacific coast, worked as a live-in social worker at a radical Catholic Worker house, helped organize the largest naked bike ride in the world, seen a child be born, fixed many people's computers, and built a zine library catalog.

Enseignez, apprenez, partagez

Vegan cooking, transportation, economics, queer culture.

I know how to do tricks on ice skates (former competitive figure skater + coach) and love to share. I can teach ANYONE how to ride a bicycle if they don't know how.

I'm queer and love to host/surf with drag queens, drag kings, transfolk, queers, bois, queens, genderfuckers, and gays of all sorts. I like learning about queer culture (especially underground) in other countries/cities.

I like to practice and learn more French, Greek, and German.

Pays que j'ai visités

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Pays dans lesquels j'ai vécu

Germany, India, United States

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de Lily. L'inscription est gratuite !

Mes groupes