Karen Michelle's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 29 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 115, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Public School as a child. Dartmouth College as an adult.
  • From Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Not to be defined by work, but by my adventures around the globe.


I enjoy traveling, learning languages, biking, camping, baking and more. I sometimes do these things with my husband, Andres (aka Andy), who is from Chile.


Same as my mission. To see more of the planet and speak a few more of the world's languages.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Planning local events, attending CS events in other locations, Surfing and Hosting.


Hosted a few. Surfed a few.


Foreign languages, foreign films, foreign travels.

  • wildlife
  • breakfast
  • baking
  • clothing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • camping
  • surfing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Shawshank Redemption, Catch Me If You Can (for the travel adventures), 500 Days of Summer + any good tear-jerker or tear-jerking comedy.

Music: Serge Gainsbourg, Imogen Heap, contemporary old school R&B, pop.

Books: Historical fiction with a love or comedic element. Good storytelling helps me escape like traveling does.

Art: Anish Kapoor's grand scale sculptures. I love Florentijn Hofman's Giant Rubber Ducky! http://www.florentijnhofman.nl/dev/project.php?id=154

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have traveled to every continent except one. Once I build up my arctic gear (and my courage against really freezing cold weather), I'll visit Antarctica by sea or by air.

I once found myself washing my clothes alone in a river in Kenya surrounded by herd of camels that came over to take a sip of water.

Another time I found myself camping in the California Redwoods and was awakened by a quiet mob of deer that just hung out around my tent.

I also swam with turtles in Maui, Hawaii and Culebra, Puerto Rico.

I was camping on Assateague Island and, before leaving, was surrounded band of Chincoteague Ponies trying to share the last bites of my breakfast.

Hmm...I seem to attract crowds of free-roaming wildlife!

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy speaking Spanish and French. I am learning Italian now. I always enjoy hearing stories about how others live or travel abroad for extended periods of time.

I can offer tips on visiting Philly or moving to Philly (e.g., renting or buying a home or apartment).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can practice English or Spanish with you - I am fluent in both.

I am also very good at washing dishes after a home-cooked meal. ;-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Denmark, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Martinique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin (French part), Spain, Sweden, Togo, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, France, Kenya, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups