Antje van den Berg's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 6% response rate
  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Antje’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • pediatrician
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a very international person: I have Dutch and German nationality, I've spent 4 years of my childhood in the United States and one year of my studies in France, have moved to Ecuador and the Netherlands for internships and to the Central African Republic for work; recently I've moved to Switzerland with my fiancé, who is French of Camrounese origin. Maybe it's because of that I can't imagine staying too long in one place and I love travelling. My Erasmus year has allowed me to find friends from all over the world, and I'd like to find even more by couchsurfing.
I am a curious and open-minded person that likes discussions, being outside and discovering new things.

To Surfers: I use Couchsurfing only on my computer (in general, I'm not a big fan of smart phones) and check my profile on average once a week. So best if you ask a bit in advance if you want to stay at my place :)

PHILOSOPHY

"Although I see the glass as “half-full” I believe it is our responsibility to fill the other half and share it. "

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To show the world that some things in this overly capitalistic world are still for free: hospitality, experiences, encounters, friendship.

Besides, couchsurfing has allowed me to meet some really great people and I feel that this way of travelling allows you to get to know places in a way you wouldn't if you stayed in a hotel. I enjoy hosting at least as much as couchsurfing myself: in times I cannot travel I can invite the world to stay at my place!

Interests

My hobbies are swimming, dancing (mostly Salsa and Bachata), painting, reading and meeting friends. I enjoy nature, hiking and biking. Besides, I'm interested in gaining all kinds of knowledge (I love learning languages, I'm especially interested in medecine and biology of course, in particular infectiology, but also international politics, global health, sociology) and getting to know new people.

  • singing
  • dancing
  • bachata
  • vegetarian
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • equestrian
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • biology
  • study abroad

Music, Movies, and Books

I read a lot, so it is hard to tell which one is my favourite... The books that most inspired me lately are by Paulo Coehlo.

The music I listen to is mostly rock (Greenday, Linkin Park,...), some old stuff (Beatles, John Denver, Simon and Garfunkel,...) and some really old stuff (classical music like Beethovem and Mozart). I also like Salsa music. And Jósean Log.

My favourite film is Forest Gump.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Working in a district hospital in the Central African Republic, one of the poorest countries in the world, for 6 months, and helping train a team of "anesthesiologists" for a low resource setting

Teach, Learn, Share

I can play the guitar a bit but I'd like to learn more. I can share my travelling experiences, my medical knowledge, try to teach you a bit of German, maybe a bit of Salsa. And of course we can just share time and (vegan) meals :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Central African Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Antje’s full profile.