ANTONIA MORGADO's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ANTONIA’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 44, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Lighting / furniture designer
  • Art foundation (since age 5), Art school, Advertising school
  • From Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Lighting / furniture designer based in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am obsessed with most forms of design and the new. Started my co with my sister and we make stuff. It's fun. It's stressful.

My father is Portuguese and my mother South African. I come from a large family of sisters. We're all in the creative industry in some way (architect, interior architect, 2 x product designers (one an illustrator, the other a carpenter / photographer).

Very fair so avoid sun. Will burn in a dark room.

Have started a bi-monthly thing called 'Sneaky Tuesday' at Mr Pants wine bar in Johannesburg. It's open to anyone who wants to come drink the best wine and share stories. It's most def not a 'networking work thing', it's an 'expand horizons' thing.

*Please note that although I am fluent in English, and speak it in all of its forms, I can barely write it. I have a very loose grasp of grammar.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've lived in London twice (not to be repeated) and travelled often through Europe but since moving back to South Africa and starting making stuff my focus shifted and became rather myopic. Travelled locally/regionally and did stuff, but all with a rather narrow haphazard focus.

Then covid hit and the reality of true isolation hit me. I have always loved what is around the next corner, over the horizon, meeting new people and experiencing new things. And in one very real global panic my weird isolationist spiral of only running a company and not been able to go do anything or see anything make me rethink a lot of my decisions.

So, still doing the product design company thing but enjoying life a whole lot more. I signed up for this site pre covid and did not have to use it in my last international travel. The world has changed a lot. And not really. And I would like to meet new people, hear new stories, and see what I can learn about anything going. So, essentially I have regressed 10 or so years, but just a tad calmer than I used to be.

*maybe more info to follow

Interests

  • architecture
  • design
  • cooking
  • wine
  • walking
  • reading
  • travel
  • food
  • antiques
  • classic cars
  • furniture
  • tools
  • product design
  • lighting
  • horticulture
  • colour
  • motorhead
  • eat the rich
  • tat
  • as in antique tat

Music, Movies, and Books

- Travels with Charlie
- The Blind Assassin
- (there are more - many many more - have huge library) but blank at the moment and moving and everything is in boxes)

Music - anything except reggae

Movies - is it good or is it stupid? Will watch both. Watch more foreign than American/English.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Um. Things? There have been things.

Teach, Learn, Share

Don't know what this is BUT...
-
-
-
-
I host a get together bimonthly at Mr Pants winebar in Blairgowerie, Johannesburg. Best wine in town. And small pretentious beers. And pizza from next door. Or the best snacks (sardines and baguette OMG).

It's from 18:30-22ish every second Tuesday.

The last dates for the 2022 are:
25 October
8 November
22 November
8 December

FUN TIMES!
-
-
-
-

What I Can Share with Hosts

Anything really. Have little bits of knowledge on huge range of subjects. Fascinated by a lot of stuff. And this all makes me happy.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Namibia, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tanzania

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Portugal, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see ANTONIA’s full profile.