Wants to Meet Up

  • 99% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aquiles’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 166 References 70 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Dutch, German, Latin
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • PhD in physics at Leiden University
  • Physics at University of Buenos Aires
  • From Buenos Aires, Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was born and raised in Buenos Aires, Argentina. After finishing my studies in Physics I decided to start a PhD in The Netherlands, where I live now.

I like discovering new parts of the world, including my hometown every time it's possible and for sure CSers are more than welcome in this activity.

I enjoy meeting new people, sharing travel experiences, exchanging music and films. Listening to what others have to say can be amazing!

Lately I became passionate about Tango and I try to dance it wherever I go. So if you are a dancer, don't hesitate in contacting me and we can go together!

I hate talking without thinking, or talking without having anything to say, perhaps that's why many people think I'm too shy and that don't speak much.

I prefer spending my money in travels than in clothes or stuff that eventually will get old, broken or lost. I'm not too attached to my possessions, I prefer thinking that good memories are something I'll have forever and that's why I try to live my life as intense as I can, and taking advantage of every second.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am living in Amsterdam now; the apartment is not huge but if you don't mind sleeping in an inflatable mattress in the living room you are more than welcome . If you send me a nice request (i.e. no spam request, just say what we have in common or why you think it would be interesting for us to meet), you have great chances of being accepted.

I try to help other members as much as I can. If they ask for advice, if they want to meet for having some drinks, or exploring the city together.

While traveling, I always try to get to know new members (or less active ones) introduce them to the rest of the CS community at their cities, answering doubts, all that is at my reach.

My Couch Surfing Experience started in 2006, a few months before my travel to Brasil... Anyway, who cares! I had always great experiences with CS. I was hosted in really different countries by really different people.

I was hosted by vegetarians, vegans, gays, lesbians, bisexuals, almost only-meat eater, heterosexuals, south Americans, north Americans, central Americans, Europeans, Asians, Africans, strange, funny, lovely, interesting, superficial, communist, consumist [...] and they were all perfect experiences in my life.


* Physics
* Tango
* Music
* Traveling
* Reading
* Writing
* Languages
* People
* Life & Everything else

  • writing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • tango
  • drinking
  • clothing
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Mediterraneo - Gabriele Salvatores (It was hard choosing just one, but I think there are only 2 types of people: who likes Mediterraneo and who doesn't)
And now I have to cheat and add a second movie: Pina - Wim Wenders (what a lovely movie, almost without words!)

Music: It's a never ending task, to listen as much music as I can. I'm listening a lot to Yann Tiersen, Brazilian music, I'm discovering argentinian rock, as well as french music, Alt-J, Vampire Weekend, Arctic Monkeys.... Thanks god (or the CERN scientists) it exists Internet :) Everything is more than welcome, so if you want to suggest something, please DO IT!

Books: El Aleph (Borges) and as a great complementary lecture: Borges y la Matemática (Guillermo Martínez). I also enjoy reading some other Latin American writers, Demasiados Héroes (L. Restrepo) is one of the examples that captivated me in the last months.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A falling star

A solitary 4-day trekking from Praia do Sono to Pouço da Cajaíba, in the state of Rio de Janeiro, Brasil.

Stat Rosa Pristina Nomine, Nomina Nuda Tenemus

Teach, Learn, Share

I was a maths and physics teacher; so we can spend some time talking about Black Holes, Numbers, Time travel, and all those things that are so interesting to so many people.

I can teach the basics of Tango and then we can go to a dance together! (And it doesn't matter if you are a woman or a man).

What I like the most is learning from others; from languages, to photography, or just about places to visit during my travels.

I enjoy a lot listening to anecdotes of travelers, learning where to go, seeing how big the world is and how small it looks.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a lot of experience traveling and I'm always willing to share experiences and learn about places I don't know or spots I've missed when visiting.

I like taking photos, so we can go for a photowalk. Since I moved to Holland, the bike became part of my daily life; bike trips are also a great thing to share and an awesome way to explore places.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Brazil, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    30 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Aquiles’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups