Arthur  Florentino's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Arthur ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Content Creator
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Current Mission:
See the world with my own eyes. In the words of brazilian sailor Amyr Klink:
"A man must travel. By his own, not through stories, pictures, books or TV..."

About Me:
Now not beeing so phylosofical.
I'm a mechanical engineering graduate, English teacher (not anymore) in my home town, Pelotas, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil.

Back in 2016 I decided to leave the engineering life and become a teacher to improve my language and communication skills, a temporary work that lasted for 2 years and made me passionate about the idea of beeing in contact with people and helping them, not only by teaching a new language, but also motivating them that everything is possible when you want.

The travelling idea comes from my young ages where I used to go fishing with my father, spending vacations on my grandad's farm, exploring new places and participating in a scouts group. After I graduated I realised that staying in an office for 8+ hours a day was not what I wanted and no excellent paycheck would cover the lack of time.

I consider myself as a good friend, sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, peaceful. I preserve the conduct of honor, honesty, empathy and I believe that a good talk is the best medicine for many problems.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To have the opportunity to meet new people, to be in touch with people from all over the world, to be closer to the local cultures while traveling and to be able to share my culture with others.

Interests

  • animals
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • camping
  • sailing
  • beaches
  • farming
  • wild camping
  • making friends

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Blues and classic rock is what I listen more often, sometimes jazz, ska, latin music, african drums, medieval themes.

Movies: Everything related to World War Two and many many others.

Books: Biographies, ww2 history, travelling stories.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

November 2018 until July 2019 - I decided to cross Europe and parts of the UK during the winter, 2 and a half months straight facing all sorts of weather conditions followed by 6 months living in the UK. A lot to talk about, tons of crazy stories.

January/February 2017 - I dicided to visit Ushuaia, the southernmost city in the Americas. Problem is that I didn't have enough money and my only option was to rely on my trusty 1 person camping tent and the help of others, I wanted to hitchhike all the way down from my city (Pelotas) to Ushuaia - Argentina. The 20 days planned for this trip became 62 at the blink of an eye and I ended up visiting much more than I expected, including a big part of Chile, the island of Chiloé.

Somewhere in the past - I walked 50km in 2 days with my friend on a rail road at an incredible place, it was amazing because it was my first long walk.

Somewhere way back in the past - I went camping for 4 days alone in the winter because none of my friends wanted (afraid of cold), it was my first solo camping and it was perfect.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can teach English, Portuguese, guitar playing and things related to engineering (repair, how to use tools, project, 2d and 3d drawing). I can also teach outdoor activities such as fishing, camping...

Learn: There is always room for knowledge, you can teach me about anything.

Share: I like to share experiences and I'm always open to listen to people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my experiences and places I've visited, my culture, good laughs.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Uruguay, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, England

Join Couchsurfing to see Arthur ’s full profile.

My Groups