Arthur de Medeiros Fernandes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Arthur’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 34 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • Engineer with tendencies to sociology
  • From so many places, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find the life in Vancouver.

====================================================

ABOUT ME

After unsuccessful on a trip where I lived in my Camper Van (intended to last year through south america, lasted a month), here I am in Vancouver to start my life again.

Nature is a essential in my life, and I believe I will be happy with all these mountains surrounding the city. Looking to find friends with the same interests for arts and nature, so I can settle down in Vancouver.=)

During my life I've lived in many parts of Brazil, from north to south. Such places are still very present in my life, as destinations to see friends and reminiscing. Also lived in Dublin, and hope to visit soon the good friends I made there.

Whenever possible I am in touch with nature, whether for a hiking, surfing(maybe not here), taking a beach or any other activity that provides adrenaline and harmony with nature. I love Brazilian popular culture, especially from the northeast, the land where I come from.

I am a peaceful guy, and always see the best in the things and people.

====================================================

Philosophy

"Keep your thoughts positive because your thoughts become your words.
Keep your words positive because your words become your behavior.
Keep your behavior positive because your behavior becomes your habits.
Keep your habits positive because your habits become your values.
Keep your values positive because your values become your destiny."

M.G

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Honestly, there is a long time I am out of CS community. Will try to fix it now =)

Interests

  • running
  • movies
  • traveling
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • beaches
  • travelling
  • cinema
  • adventures
  • dance
  • climbing
  • simple living
  • chatting
  • challenges
  • alternative living

Music, Movies, and Books

Rock, Côco, Maracatu, Baião, Samba, Trance, Reggae
Caetano Veloso, Gal Costa, Bob Dylan, Sixto Rodriguez, Led Zeppelin, ACDC, Mestre Ambrósio, Cascabulho, Chico Buarque, Mutantes, Secos e Molhados, Beatles, Rolling Stones, Stooges, Velvet Underground, Gilberto Gil, Jorge Ben, Eddie, Jacinto Silva, João do Vale, Jackson do Pandeiro, DJ Dolores, João Gilberto, Rage Against The Machines...

Clockwork Orange, Deus e o Diabo na Terra do Sol, Nueve Reinas, Amores Perros, Blame it on Fidel, Big Fish, Mr Nobody, El Hijo de La Novia.

Crime and Punishment, Lord of the Rings, Grande Sertão Veredas, The Main Enemy, A Pedra do Reino e o Principe do Sangue do Vai-e-Volta

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- I bought a Volkswagen Camper to live and travel through Brazil and Latin America, but I was interrupted in less than two months, 2000 km of travel - check the brakes guys =/

- I cycled more then 1800km from Dublin to Spain, passing By Wales, England and France. Riding the secondary roads same as all I've lived this year abroad.

- I hitchhiked from Avignon(France) to Barcelona, depending of nice people on the way.

-I walked each step on 134 km of stunning beaches of the Rio Grande do Norte(Northeast of Brazil), with the most beautiful and distinct people and scenarios.

-Bungee jumping.

-At 17 years old I ran away from home and took a bus to a town 680 km far from where my parents lived. I lived alone one year (yes, with the consent of my parents), and I'm the only who know how much I matured.

-I lived for 8 months in a amazing hostel, where I understood you can't live each person who pass on your life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach Portuguese, percussion, Brazilian culture, automation, IT...but honestly, I'm the worst teacher I've ever seen.

I'm sure we have many things more interesting to share.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Company for crazy travels (did not give up on that yet)
Sincere friendship
beers

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Canada, Ireland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Arthur’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups