Kathleen Palmer's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathleen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Child Care Provider aka. babysitter/ nanny
  • B.A. Studio Art from Sonoma State University
  • From Oakhurst, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Let's see...I never know what to say about myself... here goes... My name is Kathleen, but I usually go by Katie. I'm generally a quiet person, unless I need to be assertive or talk to get things done. I live right next to Yosemite National Park in California, and love to hike and explore nature. I have taught outdoor education (aka. science camp) for two years and love it, but now am in the process of becoming an art teacher. I love working with kids of all ages! Most of my time is spent in the company of kids, nature, or family. I've been told I'm caring, kind, and compassionate, but also rather odd (especially by any kid that I have looked after!) and quirky. Sometimes, randomly, my sister and I will just start talking with made up or random accents just because we feel like it. If I were an animal I would want to be a cat. Depending on my mood, either a large jungle cat, or a house cat. Yep. Anyways, this is just some about me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My sister and I are planning a trip to Europe this year and are hoping to have a great adventure meeting new people, seeing new places, and are on a fairly tight budget. So we thought we'd give couchsurfing a try!

Interests

Nature, especially being out in it hiking, camping, exploring and discovering new and interesting plants and insects. Reading, I enjoy a variety of fantasy, science fiction, adventure, mystery, western, mythology/fairytale, or any combination of those genres. I also like Classic Comics and Superheroes in both the Marvel and DC Universes. Crafting, I pretty much have my fingers in almost any type of craft you can think of, or am interested in learning new ones. Right now I like doing beading, crochet, sewing (clothes, costumes, quilts, etc.), weaving (learning), dyes... Art, the making of and enjoying it. I love to paint/draw/collage on canvas, wooden panels, and paper.

  • animals
  • cats
  • insects
  • arts
  • culture
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • clothing
  • comics
  • reading
  • crochet
  • painting
  • drawing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • teaching
  • science
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Francesca Battestelli, Chris Rice, Crowder, Imagine Dragons, Lindsey Stirling, and Rend Collective are just a few of my favorite Music artists. I also like Classic Rock, Country, Pop, and a variety of Classical music. Pretty much I'm eclectic!

My all-time favorite movie is The Fifth Element. I love watching movies in almost every genre except Horror (can't handle the really creepy stuff).

Any book from Anne McCaffrey's Dragon Riders of Pern series. Agatha Chrisite's mysteries with the character of Hercule Poirot. Sherlock Holmes. Louis L'Amour's books with the Sackett family.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been to almost every state in the USA. I was homeschooled and so for an educational field trip my mom decided to put the four of us kids, herself, and our grandpa into a full sized van and camp our way across the country. We planned out the route to see as many historical landmarks, national parks, and other points of interest as we could within two months.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn about art, culture, food, and nature.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Both my sister and I know how to cook and are willing to make delicious food for our wonderful hosts should they desire it!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathleen’s full profile. It’s free!