Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ArtParis’s full profile. It’s free!


  • PhD student in History
  • University in Paris.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


This profile is somewhat outdated. I'm currently living in NYC where I arrived in August 2015. I'm a visiting graduate researcher at NYU this year. I'm connecting again to try to participate to events and organize some if possible.




First of all useful tips: -€Reading my profile and avoiding copy-past message is the best way to be hosted. .-Unavailable dates : traveling in July- I wont be able to answer you more than three or four weeks in advance. I don't plan that much!.-I tend to host more easily people who already hosted or participated but I'm still newbie friendly. I'm just vigilant too avoid freeloaders, there are tons in Paris !- There might be password somewhere on this profile that you need to put in your message!!

Born and raised in the nice city of Nantes, I moved to Paris for studying purpose some 6 years ago. Finishing my history studies there, I'm doing a PhD, while giving some classes at the university (ENS Cachan).

Been able to travel a bit in my life and want to hit the road as soon as I can, so I joined couchsurfing, to meet travellers here and improve my trips. I hosted quite a bit and so far, it has always been a pleasure!

I currently live with my girlfriend who is going back to study in a photograph school. That's why my pictures sucks, she takes them all and I'm too lazy to upload them from her computer.Yeah I know. I'd say she is easygoing but usually very busy so you might no see her a lot if you come during the week.


I need to be drunk to fill this one...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I generaly host people when I can in Paris. That's how I started couchsurfing. And I use couches when I can travel. So I know both sides! I also participate sometimes to events, when I'm abroad. But I went to the Couchcrash week 2011 in San Francisco, It was really nice!



- Matthieu 14/05/10-15/05/10

- Michael 14/05/10 - 17/05/10

- Francis 24/05/10 - 28/05/10

- Anna and Ivan 18/07/10 - 19/07/10

- Christopher 21/07/10 - 23/07/10

- Jason 01/08/10 - 02/08/10

- Karoline 18/05/11 - 20/05/11

- Camille Jasmin 20/05/11 - 23/05/11

- Dante 25/07/11 - 27/07/11

- Andrew 27/07/11 - 28/07/11

- Carlos 13/10/11 - 17/10/11

- Lucas 9/11/11 - 11/11/11

- Han Yan 16/11/11 - 18/11/11

- Gabriele 22/11/11 - 25/11/11

- Mig 25/11/11 - 27/11/11

- Andrew again and his brother 06/02/13 - 08/02/13


-- Anna, Stockholm
- Oliver, London
- Francis, Montreal
- Michael, Minneapolis
- David, Rapid City
- Camille, Saint George (Utah)
- Mig Pascual, Las Vegas
- Roger, San Francisco
- Lindsay, San Francisco
-Prashant, New York

Free counters


I'm really into music. I really like discovering new stuff and share mine.
Of course I'm fond of travels, but can't backpack as often as I would like. Always have some plans in my head though. If you have travel suggestions or stories, I always have an open ear for that!
I really enjoy cooking.
If you can learn me some local recipes of your, I'd be thrilled.
Can be a geek sometimes, but not too much, don't worry.
By the way : the password is holy chicken.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : from indie rock (especially psych rock), folk and electronic music to rap, jazz and classical music. I have periodical tastes during which I can be crazy for a specific type. I also used to play harpischord for some 12 years but I quited after highschool for studying purposes

Bands I listen too right now : Goat, animal collective, Kendrick Lamar, Ab-Soul, Simian Mobile Disco, Tame Impala, Avishai Cohen, Gainsbourg and much more.

Books: I love 19th century litterature (Flaubert, Dostoïevsky), 20th (Proust, Claude Simon) and contemporary (Jonathan Coe, Murakami). Some Science Fiction and Fantasy books.

I also watch tons of TV shows.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking in Lofoten Island in Norway, sailing among greek islands, backpaking in the US by bus for one month and a half, doing a 6300km road trip from New York to San Francisco. Hiking alone in the Black Hills and Yosemite.

visited 14 states (6.22%)Create your own visited map of The World or Like this? try: Sea Level Rise

Teach, Learn, Share


fun : biking in Paris, and survive (mostly). The touristic stuff you have to do, the one you may avoid. Cheese and wine, the nice restaurants in my neighbourhood, the cheap bars, the decent concert places, the exhbitions you might want to check.

Less fun : History, politics in France and Europe. History of Paris. Don't worry, being a teacher doesn't mean that I will harrass you with tons of anecdotes.

Learn: anything! Cooking recipes and tips or story about your country ... just anything you wanna bring.

Share: a good meal, a good talk, a crazy party, just a nice time hanging out. I always try to find time for my surfers, except if I have way too much work.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see ArtParis’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups