Aareet Sandhu's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aareet’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 17 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Hindi, Panjabi, Punjabi, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Wandering to the beats in my head
  • BSc in Advertising
  • From Clearwater, FL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore other cultures through the eyes of natives

ABOUT ME

I love immersing myself in other cultures, which is why I joined this network. I'm a bit of a science nerd. Always willing to try new things. I'm a music fanatic and add a personal soundtrack to each day. I like anything with a good beat, and I don't care how cliche that sounds. I like being adventurous, breaking a few rules, creativity, sarcasm and people who are nice to people :)

PHILOSOPHY

I'm a "go with the flow" type B personality. I try to live life without any regrets, because it's all a learning process. Souls meet and souls part, and I try to focus on taking the positives from each and every encounter and experience as I continue to move forward. I truly believe everything happens for a reason. Science is my religion, and I believe in a greater energy that connects us all :)

Oh, and I also recently read this quote that's inspired me to seek out my true passion for what I want to do in life. I think it really helps put things in perspective (esp during this crazy/exciting/confusing transitional time in my 20's):

"If you're interested, you'll do what's convenient. If you're committed, you'll do whatever it takes."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've hosted several people in my home in Clearwater, and I spent the summer of 2009 traveling throughout Europe via Couchsurfing! Currently, I'm not able to offer a place to stay, but I am more than happy to meet visitors and help show them around!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

As I mentioned, I used CS while I traveling in Europe. I've also met a lot of wonderful people here in the US through CS. I think everyone should at let down their guard a bit and open themselves up to this experience! I've made some great friends thanks to CS, and I think it's such a brilliant concept that helps connect us to people in far away lands. Makes the whole world seem more like one giant home :)

Interests

Music (of almost all genres), traveling of course, the great outdoors, anything involving the water(jumping into it, cruising over it, fighting through it,etc.), jumping from planes, discovering hidden passageways, writing, singing, dancing, going out without a plan and coming home with crazy stories, making new friends, dining with class, laughing, sleeping in on rainy days, being inspired...

  • horses
  • writing
  • singing
  • dancing
  • dining
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • religion
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Everything...I mean EVERYTHING! My Ipod is aptly named "The Eclectic Collective," which would also be the name of my band...if I had one. I'm a raver and a rager and I plan my year around music festivals. Always down to see some live musica!
I LOVE CHUCK PALAHNIUK! Rant is one of my favs of his. Some other favorite books include The Client, Breakfast at Tiffanys, The House of the Spirits, Holy Cow, Freakanomics.
Movies - anything directed by Tarantino or starring Audrey Hepburn. I love well-written scripts and movies that leave you questioning everything at the end. I'm also a sucker for slapstick comedy (Dumb & Dumber is one of my fav movies lol)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 2 months old, my grandmother took me from England to stay with her to India (she was hoping I'd forget my mom lol....I didn't). When I was 13, I rode horses with my sister through the Grand Canyon and slept under the stars with a Native American tribe (opening my eyes in the middle of the night and looking up was surreal). I climbed the Great Wall of China when I was 15. I skydived with my mom on my 18th birthday. At 22, I traveled to 11 countries in Europe in 6 weeks with my two best friends (CS helped a lot!). I rode camels through the Giza pyramids in Egypt the year after. I graduated from the University of Florida with a B.S. in Advertising and am currently working on a Masters in Biomedical Sciences!

Countries I’ve Visited

China, France, India

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Aareet’s full profile. It’s free!