Ash Bruxvoort's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ash’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Freelance Writer, Farmer
  • B.A. in English
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm currently moving around the country a lot working on farms and picking up freelance writing gigs. I write fiction, nonfiction and for the web. I grew up on a farm in Iowa. I attended the University of Iowa for English. After school I worked for The Nature Conservancy for a little while, but then I quit to travel and write. I love music, reading, writing, and photography.

Currently in: Chico, CA
Heading to: Syracuse, NY

WORDS I BELIEVE IN

"Not until we are lost do we begin to understand ourselves." -Henry David Thoreau

"Not until we are lost do we begin to understand ourselves." -Annie Dillard

“There was nowhere to go but everywhere, so just keep on rolling under the stars.” -Jack Kerouac

"As I get older, I get smaller. I see other parts of the world I didn't see before. Other points of view. I see outside myself more." -Neil Young

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Looking for places to surf. When I'm living on my own again I will accept surfers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None, but would like to learn!

Interests

music, nature, environment, beer, craft beer, iowa, yoga, running, bikes, hiking, camping, the outdoors, spirituality, meditation

  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • environment
  • wine
  • beer
  • yoga
  • running
  • meditation
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • freelancing

Music, Movies, and Books

On the Road, Walden, The Handmaid's Tale, Middlesex, Grateful Dead, Umphrey's McGee, The String Cheese Incident, Railroad Earth

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Slept on the roof of my hostel in Switzerland under the stars.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have taught over 20 people how to hula hoop... will you be next?!

I also know quite a bit about farming, music and books.

I am looking to learn a little Spanish!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversation, travel stories, and a bottle of wine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Italy, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ash’s full profile. It’s free!