Ashlee Randell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashlee’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Youth Worker
  • Bachelor of Social Work
  • From Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Never stop learning
Grow my creative side
Do more things that scare me (a little)

ABOUT ME

I am an easy-going, kind Aussie and I love meeting new people. I love walking tours, gigs, theatre and beers (preferably near to a body of water).

In July & Aug 2023 my band toured Europe & UK and I decided to extend to travel until January 2024 and take a sabbatical from my job as a Social Worker to explore creative interests including drama therapy, volunteer and get out of my 'bubble'.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My favourite travel experiences have always been when I have connected with a local who gave me recommendations off the tourist track and a taste of local life. I have learnt so much more about life, cultures and myself travelling in this way and importantly - had more fun!

I have dabbled in Couchsurfing in Germany and Australia - each time was unique, safe, heartwarming and most experiences were very fun!

Update Oct: I’ve been solo travelling for 6weeks now and can honestly say that spending time with my couchsurfing hosts and/or following their recommendations have been a beautiful string of highlights of my trip so far and I’m so grateful 🙏🏼

Interests

I enjoy singing, playing volleyball, boardgames, trombone and ukulele. At home I socialise a lot, spend time at the beach and drink delicious South Australian wine with friends.

I am very passionate about social justice - particularly about equity for indigenous peoples and women as well about reforming the justice system in Australia. In the future I want to explore how music and drama can be used in therapy for people in jail.

  • writing
  • singing
  • festivals
  • exercise
  • movies
  • tv
  • tennis
  • volleyball
  • social work
  • parks
  • beach
  • social justice
  • boardgames

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite band is The Cat Empire

My go-to karaoke songs:
Good Luck by Basement Jaxx
Bring me some water by Melissa Etheridge Daydreamer by Adele.

Some of my favourite movies:
Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls
The East
Darjeeling Limited
Babel
happythankyoumoreplease
Bridesmaids

My favourite podcasts:
Stuff You Should Know
The Happiness Lab
S*!t town
Huberman Lab
Ladies we need to talk

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've performed at SXSW Festival in Austin, Texas, done a Shania Twain tribute show and travelled all around Australia with my bands.

Teach, Learn, Share

I try to approach life with curiosity.
I have brought the Aussie delicacy, Vegemite with me - if you’re brave enough to try it!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to jam (play music and sing) with people.
I can do the dishes and cook simple meals.
I offer honesty, humour and genuine curiosity.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Papua New Guinea

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashlee’s full profile.