Ashley Gerner's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian Bokmål; learning Icelandic, Romanian
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • dog handler
  • Bachelor's degrees in Economics and Psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find some great people to live with in the Stockholm area until I start my job near Umeå in November.

ABOUT ME

Most of the time I am working as a sleddog handler for dog-sledding companies in the north of Sweden, but my next job doesn't begin until October/November. Due to not so fun circumstances, it's necessary that I stay in Stockholm until that time, but I'm having terrible luck finding a room to rent here. The competition seems to be fierce! Despite the minor setback, I am happy to be here, as most of my friends live in the Stockholm/Uppsala area, so it's very nice to spend extra time with them. I have been working as a dog and cat sitter to make ends meet and I love it!

I am a music nerd, and particularly love old heavy metal, 60s/70s rock, punk, post-punk, electronic/synthwave, and medieval and classical music. I'm a nomadic spirit and thus regularly am stricken by wanderlust! My greatest passion in life is dogs, both domestic and wild.

PHILOSOPHY

I think it would be too difficult to explain in this small box.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am happy though to hang out, have coffee, or show folks around the area if they are staying in Stockholm. Whenever I finally settle down and have my own place, I hope to offer my own couch to the world's explorers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couch-surfed just once via the CS website, and it was the first time my host had participated in this as well. She was a super nice lady and we got along very well, so it turned out to be an excellent experience. Anytime I've traveled before, I have always stayed with people whom I have personally known, so most of my experiences have all been pretty great. I hope to have some more great experiences couch surfing by using the CS website very soon.

Interests

I enjoy listening to and researching music, attending gigs, traveling (not surprisingly), films, books, dog-sledding, all outdoor activities in the companionship of dogs, etc.

  • animals
  • documentaries
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • reading
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: metal(black/death/thrash/doom/heavy), post-punk/gothic rock/darkwave/coldwave, 60s and 70s classic/psych/prog rock, late 70s to early 80s punk and crust, shoegaze/dream pop, industrial, electronic/synthwave, classical, opera, neoclassical, and anything truly unique.

Books: Carl Sagan's Cosmos, J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit, Cioran's The Trouble With Being Born, Rapaille's The Culture Code, Agrippa's Three Books of Occult Philosophy, Galbraith's The Anatomy of Power, Golding's Lord of the Flies, Hawking's The Grand Design, Ovid's Metamorphoses, Bram Stoker's Dracula, Asimov's Robot series, all stories by H.P. Lovecraft,

Movies: Ingmar Bergman, Andrei Tarkovsky, David Cronenberg, and David Lynch are my favorite directors. Also love Stanley Kubrick, Lars Von Trier, Roman Polanski, Darren Aronofsky, Dario Argento, and Alejandro Jodorowsky.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went on tour with my friends' metal band from Europe called Coffins up and down the west coast of the United States the week before my finals during the spring of 2009. I was doing homework and studying on the road and submitting assignments via snail-mail. I made it back just in time for my first final, and managed to pull off pretty good grades for the semester. It was a little stressful, but completely well worth it. Getting to spend quality time with friends who live thousands of miles away while seeing the world at the same time is really hard to pass up.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share lots of info about polar dog breeds and their psychology. I have a lot of knowledge about various types of old and obscure rock music as well.

I would like to learn how to sew better!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Iceland, Norway, Romania, Sweden, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley’s full profile. It’s free!