Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aswin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German, Japanese, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Perpetual nomad, IT
  • School of life
  • From Tilburg, North Brabant, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Short term:
Learn to be fluent in japanese!
Do volunteering work in Japan.
Visit and work in New Zealand

Long term:
Meet new People, see new places, getting a better understanding of the differences in cultures and lifestyles all over the world and figuring out how to break down some of these cultural barriers.
In the end we are all one People.

PHILOSOPHY

never settle for mediocrity. Keep expanding your horizons by stepping out of the 'comfort zone'.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Born and raised in the Netherlands. I used to work in banking and finance industry for about 5 years.
Towards the end of those years I realized that i wasnt happy in that industry, so I decided to pack up my stuff and start traveling.

Ive been traveling on and off now since 2013 and I never looked back.
Ive traveled to Japan twice, big parts of southeast Asia, did some volunteering work in Thailand, and worked for 6 months in Australia.

The experiences and the people i met during my travels made me really reflect on life and think about in what direction I want to take my life.
Especially my time volunteering in Thailand really got me more enthusiastic in volunteering.
It's an excellent way to get to know the locals and their culture and that is EXACTLY what I am looking for when im visiting new countries.

My Character:
I am respectful, Inquisitive , very eager to learn and an easy going kind of guy. I dont need much to get by in life ( I try to make the best of every situation) I enjoy learning about new cultures and developing new skills

Interests

Gaming & futurism

  • culture
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • video games
  • american football
  • computer science
  • languages
  • cultural immersion
  • sci-fi
  • muay thai
  • japan

Music, Movies, and Books

Music
I listen to literally everything with the exception of deathmetal and classical music. Currently listening : Close To Me | R&B, Chill Mix (Best of Blackbear)

Movies
Mr. Nobody, Forest Gump, Interstellar, everything with a good story

Books
Currently on my Kindle: Dune, game of thrones, 1984, the Fifth wave, the 4 hour workweek,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Volunteering in thailand,
Driving through Vietnam north to south on a beat up bike
Beating Halo on Legendary difficulty (!)

Teach, Learn, Share

Dutch, english, some spanish. General computer stuff,

What I Can Share with Hosts

My (sometimes) very interesting viewpoints on life and i love having a good discussion be it about serious or wacky subjects.

Also I like to help people out as much as I can, so should you require any assistance with anything, let me know and I'll see how i can help.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Cambodia, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands Antilles, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Dominican Republic, Japan, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Aswin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups