Justin Atkins's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 54 References 32 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Russian
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Business Owner
  • University of Florida - Finance, Mass Comm and Spanish
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

>> http://www.narcity.com/toronto/8-awesome-dudes-who-would-gladly-lend-you-their-couch-if-youre-stranded-in-toronto/ <<

Please see note under Couchsurfing Experience if you are sending a request.

Florida bored me and I had a spare Canadian passport so I packed my things, quit my job and have been living it up in Toronto for just over 5 years.

I've always wanted the big city lifestyle and since I have both USA/Canadian citizenship, I decided to move to Toronto. I studied abroad in Madrid, Spain in the spring of 2009 which is when I explored most of Europe. That summer, I worked at the Pink Palace hostel in Corfu, Greece, where I met some of coolest people I know.

I rarely say no to an opportunity to try something new and I love new experiences. Especially living in Toronto, I love going to sporting events and discovering new music. If you stay with me for any amount of time, we will probably go to a concert. I check http://www.blogto.com/events/ on a daily basis to see if anything interesting is going on in Toronto.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'd be happy to show people as much of the city as I know, or for that matter, explore parts I've never been before. Whether you want a host or just to meet-up for coffee send me a message and we'll try to make it happen.


I've surfed a few times, both when I was living in Europe and more recently in Canada and Michigan, but I had never hosted until I moved to Toronto. In Toronto, I've hosted over 40 people and had some amazing experiences with fantastic people from countries such as Russia, Italy, New Zealand, Austria and Germany.

Note: If you don't at least pretend to read my profile or use my name, I probably won't accept the request. Sorry but "hey can I stay at your place" just won't do.


Any outdoor activities.. I play tennis and golf. Love going to sports games. Traveling, meeting new people. Music.. I always enjoy a good night out.. sleep is for when I'm old.

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a music junkie. I could talk music for literally hours and have a nice record collection of everything from Billy Joel to Elton John to Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Music: Third Eye Blind, Sublime, Milky Chance, Bastille, Vampire Weekend, Jack Johnson, Sam Smith, Barenaked Ladies, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Lorde, Florida Georgia Line, George Ezra, Zac Brown Band, Imagine Dragons, Twenty One Pilots

Bonus (if you like my regular music, check out these Toronto/ Canadian bands): Coleman Hell, Arkells, July Talk, Bahamas, Scott Helman, USS, Born Ruffians, Strumbellas

Movies: Signs, Green Mile, Jerry Maguire, Wedding Crashers, Almost Famous, Animal House

TV: Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Walking Dead, Veep, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Entourage

Books: Mostly non-fiction unless it's a can't miss. I most recently read Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis, Life by Keith Richards, Frank Sinatra's Unauthorized biography, So You've Been Publicly Shamed, Elon Musk's biography, Shoe Dog- Phil Knight, and am currently reading Every Day is a Holiday about a guy who celebrates all of the "International Day of ___" that exist.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

How can I pick one?
Oktoberfest in Munich
Las Fallas in Valencia
Summer working at the Pink Palace Hostel in Greece
Watching films at the Cannes and Toronto Film Festivals
St Paddy's in Dublin
Carnival in Cadiz, Salvador, and Rio de Janeiro
Easter in Rome
Mardi Gras in New Orleans
Football Game at the Big House in Michigan
Driving 4x4's on Fraser Island
Great American Beer Fest in Denver
8x at the World's Biggest Outdoor Cocktail Party
Sky diving in Las Vegas
9,100 mile, 2 1/2 month road trip across the USA
Paragliding in Medellin
Hiking Machu Picchu

... I loved them all.

Well actually maybe drinking vodka at midnight with a homeless guy in the train station at the border of Poland and the Czech Republic.

Teach, Learn, Share


What I Can Share with Hosts

Good stories, great music, travel experiences.. I don't think we'll be short of conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Canada, Colombia, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Ukraine, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!