Logo orange

Peter Grisins

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 37 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Latvian, Russian; learning Esperanto, German
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Researcher in quantum physics
  • Dr. rer. nat.
  • From Ventspils and Riga, Latvia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

.

ABOUT ME

Currently I am doing research in theoretical quantum physics in Vienna. I spend my spare time surfing the web, practicing capoeira, frisbee or guitar, learning to play piano, reading scientific stuff, jogging, working out, learning languages (currently German, and a bit of French, Greek and Chinese), going out to Couchsurfing meetings, playing board and role playing games with my friends.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm a man of science and I'm interested mostly in things which exhibit logical, predictable and reliable behavior. I perceive the world as an amazing though knowable mechanism. I get inspired form it's complexity and the fact that the human mind is sharp enough to understand it, even in its aspects that cannot be imagined.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I used to host a lot while living in Riga, hosted more than 60 people in two years. In Vienna I participate in couchsurfing events, mainly in monthly Stammtisch'es, sometimes in weekly Thursday meetings, and organize Russian-speaking events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Please don't leave me a reference if you haven't hosted me or if I haven't surfed with you.

Unfortunately I don't know Vienna very well; it doesn't make much sense to ask me to show any special places — please ask a local for that.

Interests

I'm deeply interested in all fields of mathematics and natural sciences, especially in chaos theory, cosmology, quantum physics, physics of the Earth, molecular biology, music theory, neurosciences.The other passion of mine is linguistics (mainly evolution of languages and projects of artificial ones) and the studies of human diversity (anthropology and ethnology).I'm interested in modern architecture, city infrastructure and public transport, especially underground.I admire people performing feats of high skill and concentration, like playing a musical instrument or doing extreme sports. And I also try to develop such skills myself, so I strum guitar, can perform basic capoeira, and now I'm learning to play piano)What else have I experienced? To name a few more things: parachuting, snowboarding, hitch-hiking, live action role playing :)I really enjoy singing.

Music, Movies & Books

Normally I don't listen to music and don't watch movies or TV-series, maybe only Hollywood blockbusters from time to time.

Favourite authors: Bertrand Russell, Jared Diamond, W. Somerset Maugham, Jean-Paul Sartre, Stanislaw Lem, Strugatsky brothers, John R. R. Tolkien, Thor Heyerdahl.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

.

Teach, Learn, Share

.

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Latvia

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile