Austin Rayford's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Austin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Masters student in Biomedicine, UiB
  • Bachelors in Chemical Biology, UC Berkeley
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

Hey there! I'm a native Californian doing my masters here in Norway. I'm an avid traveler, and try to visit a new city or country at least once a month! I love the outdoors, but I'm also a laboratory scientist, so I try to keep a good balance between research and recreation. When I'm not hiking or in the lab, you'll most likely find me in the local student pub/club, at a good concert / techno party / open mic night, or volunteering for one of the many amazing events going on here in Bergen.

Fun fact: I love singing and beatboxing in the shower!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe in Karma. Whenever I'm traveling, I always find people who are willing to go out of their way to show me around the place that they live in. While I'm home (which is Bergen for the next 2+ years), I'd like to do the same for other people! There's nothing more rewarding than seeing someone have a great time because you showed them a new experience. :)

Interests

Percussion, guitar, motorcycles, triathlon, backpacking, beatboxing, swimming, cycling, beer/wine tasting, clubs, nightlife, and meeting new people!

  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • wine tasting
  • triathlon
  • nightlife
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • motorcycles
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: 90's (golden era) hip-hop, Jazz, TECHNO, DnB, Lo-Fi hip-hop / house, A.B.R. (anything but reggaeton)

Books: Freakonomics, I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell, Kurt Vonnegut.

Favorite movie: Hostel. Just kidding! It's probably Superbad

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can hold my breath for over 4 minutes on a good day... I also have rad hacky-sack skills.

I've ran two marathons, NEVER AGAIN!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you to drink like a Norwegian ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a pretty outgoing, spontaneous, and energetic person, and will most likely buy you a drink. :)

I like cooking as well, so if you need help in the kitchen or want a meal served, I can do that!

Join Couchsurfing to see Austin’s full profile. It’s free!