Alex Woods's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Engineer
  • MS in Mechanical Engineering
  • From Incline Village, NV, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

I grew up in the Reno/Tahoe area, and also went to University here in Reno. I'm a mechanical engineer by schooling, but landed myself as a software engineer somehow - I really enjoy my work in the STEM industry, and the positive impact I can make on the world through my work. My main passions though are outside of the office. My wife and I both love outdoor activities such as hiking/backpacking, mountain biking, rock climbing, skiing/snowboarding, and any other adventures we can find ourselves in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I originally joined couchsurfing years ago, with the intent of hosting travelers when I was living in Australia. When I returned to the states and got back to university studies, it was never practical for me to host and I wasn't doing much traveling. Now however, my wife and I have a nice home we are excited to share with travelers and hope we can show people all the reasons we love living in Reno, from the numerous activities, to the awesome food, and the great people. Not to mention Lake Tahoe! We also hope to do some traveling ourselves and would love to meet locals and have some fun experiences through connections made on couchsurfing.

Interests

My wife and I have a goal of trying at least one new sport per year that we are together. So far we've done well, picking up a lot of the sports in my "interests" but naturally we are always open to opportunities to go on new adventures and try new things. At the top of my want-to-try list right now is kite-boarding, deep water soloing, and alpine climbing!

  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • backcountry skiing

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a fan of nearly any music, aside from that which has screaming lyrics which I've never been able to get into. Mostly like fiction adventure type books but occasionally enjoy a non-fiction documentary type book.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We've done plenty of fun things, but nothing stands out as particularly "amazing." I'll fill this in if something I do qualifies!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always happy to teach people whatever I can, anything from helping with my nephew's math homework, to helping my grandma set up her wireless printer, to brainstorming ideas for renovating a bathroom on the cheap. On the flip side, I love learning new things and always like picking up a new skill here and there. Even tho I'm not particularly great learning and remembering languages, I have fun trying if someone is willing to teach me.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm happy to lend a hand with any IT type tasks, computer, network, etc related. I am also a fairly skilled handyman, having fully renovated our home and I'm happy to take care of small projects if I can. Aside from actual labor, I can share stories about my travels in Australia where I got my divemaster certification and had a generally great time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy, Mexico, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.